Originally posted by trevor33Yes, he can and will be mated!
if the black king is in the middle of the board is it possible to avoid being mated if white has just a rook left?
Originally posted by Sicilian SmaugYes it can, knight and bishop can't unless your opponent is stupid. Knight and Knight is hard, though.
I once got mated by 2 knights and a king in a blitz game I just seemed to accidently place my king in exactly the right spot for him. Dont beleive that can be forced though
Originally posted by Sicilian SmaugKing and bishop and knight can be forced and isn't hard but diffucult to learn at first, just needs time and patience and has to be under the 50 move rule.
I thought it was the other way round. Knight and Bishop is hard but can be forced and two knights cannot be forced unless the opponent puts his king in the wrong position.
Originally posted by RahimKhow do you force a mate with just the bishop, knight and kings left?
King and bishop and knight can be forced and isn't hard but diffucult to learn at first, just needs time and patience and has to be under the 50 move rule.
king and 2 knights vs a lone king can't be forced. Check any chess ending books and it will tell you this. Get you king to the middle of the board and keep him there. However if they are some pawns on the board then it's different.
Originally posted by Sicilian Smaugthank you, and ragnorak
Kindly supplied by Ragnorak a while back Thread 32573