Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 08 Jan '07 17:12 / 1 edit
    note: game in progress - just asking to clarify rule, not asking for advice
    Am i misunderstanding the rule?
    Game Game 2779639
    After white played 36. Qf8g7 i put the checkmark in claim draw, and made my move. It did not accept it as a draw? I was told that i had to claim the draw as the repetition occurred - but.. i did? If you look , there have been no further moves still. Moves 32W, 34W, and 36W the board is in the same spot all three times.
  2. Standard member Ragnorak
    For RHP addons...
    08 Jan '07 17:25
    Originally posted by TwinsPlusOne
    [b]note: game in progress - just asking to clarify rule, not asking for advice
    Am i misunderstanding the rule?
    Game Game 2779639
    After white played 36. Qf8g7 i put the checkmark in claim draw, and made my move. It did not accept it as a draw? I was told that i had to claim the draw as the repetition occurred - but.. i did? If you look , ...[text shortened]... no further moves still. Moves 32W, 34W, and 36W the board is in the same spot all three times.[/b]
    Looks legit to me. Send feedback.

    D
  3. 08 Jan '07 17:28
    Originally posted by Ragnorak
    Looks legit to me. Send feedback.

    D
    Thanks - i had, and received a response. I've sent a followup response, so i'll wait the counter response out.
    i had thought maybe i was incorrect.
  4. 08 Jan '07 17:42 / 2 edits
  5. 08 Jan '07 17:59
    You can only claim the draw when after your executed move, the position you move into has been on the board three times. Hence white can claim a draw but black cannot.


    From the FAQ
    Third repetition of a position. If any identical position appears three times during a game, then the game can be claimed as a draw. Please note that each repetition must be identical with regards to en passant and castling availability. A draw can only be claimed along with a move that contributes to a repetition. Claiming after the repetition has occurred is not possible, unless the same position can be repeated again on a future move.
  6. 08 Jan '07 18:16
    Thanks- I wasn't aware that only the person making the move could claim the draw.. so 3 fold repetition draws can never by by accident.. the person must move into it and claim it.