Originally posted by ilywrinNo,
Maybe because you could force stalemate with immovable piece sometimes, and lose otherwise?
Originally posted by rooktakesqueenI don't think so. 'cause whoever heard of a pawn that moved backwards?
i once read that if a pawn gets to the end under the rules of the game the player can choose not to have it promoted; however, every computer game i've ever play doesnt give you the option to leave the pawn as a pawn; is this rule true?
Originally posted by rooktakesqueenI would guess that 99% of club players would look at you funny and say no. The other 1% of us would tell you that rule died over 100 years ago, so no.
it would be interested in a club game, if you were winning anyway and you still got a pawn to the end, if you stated you wished to promote the pawn to a dummy pawn if they would allow it
Originally posted by Fat LadyI would just like to post an exerpt from that link.
There used to be a rule where a pawn could be left unpromoted when it reached the eighth rank. It was called a "dummy pawn". Here is a puzzle constructed by the great American puzzle composer Sam Loyd which utilizes this strange rule:
This rule was done away with in 1903, soon after Steinitz, who was a fan of it, died.