Moves
    24 Feb '09 14:36

White to move.
  2. Joined
    16 Nov '06
    Moves
    24 Feb '09 16:04
    OK, I'll fall for it:

Black is an exchange down but looks like he has clear pressure, great bolckade and the better bishop. I like black in this position but I am probably missing something obvious...
  3. Standard memberPBE6
    Bananarama
    False berry
    Moves
    24 Feb '09 17:03
    Originally posted by Garnoth
    OK, I'll fall for it:

Black is an exchange down but looks like he has clear pressure, great bolckade and the better bishop. I like black in this position but I am probably missing something obvious...
    I'm new at this, but I agree with your appraisal. In keeping with my recent Silman study, I should list the imbalances:

Minor pieces: Black's dark-squared bishop is clearly superior to white's light-squared bishop. It applies pressure to the e3 pawn along with black's queen and rook, and threatens to capture the pawn with check, while white's light-squared bishop languishes behind the light-squared queenside pawns while hemmed in by the f-file rook, and has no targets to shoot for. Black's knight is well placed on c5 and supported by the d6 pawn, and protects the b7 pawn (preventing rook pentration on the b-file) while eying the b3 square, preventing white from reinforcing e3 with his rook.

Pawn structure: White has an isolated a-pawn, backwards pawns on c4 and e3, and 3 pawn islands, but has a (temporary) majority in the centre. Black has a backward pawns on b7 and f7, an isolated pawn on d6, 3 pawn islands and a kingside majority. However, black's pawns are well defended, and the isolated pawn on d6 provides fine outposts for black's knight on c5 and e5. Black's pawns also mostly reside on the white squares, allowing black's dark-squared bishop access to most of the board.