1. Joined
    14 Feb '10
    Moves
    14 Feb '10 19:56
    I have very little experience of either of these defences, but I have questions concerning both of them.

Although they start of very differently in nature, it seems to me that... A)_French defence with a later ...,c5; leads to the same black pawn structure as... B) Sicilian with ...e6; and ...,d5;.

How common is this crossover/transposition? If this black structure is likely to be reached, what are the pros and cons of each move order to get there?

Sincerely
    Latent Potential
  2. Joined
    01 Nov '06
    Moves
    14 Feb '10 20:16
    Transpositions between these two defenses are possible, but rarely happen. The Siciian generally appeals to players who like open positions. The French, to players who are more comfortable with closed or semi-closed positions since most main lines result in a center with pawns on e5 and d4 for White, e6 and d5 for Black. Play through some example games and you'll see what I mean.
  3. Account suspended
    Moves
    14 Feb '10 20:162 edits
    Originally posted by Latent Potential
    I have very little experience of either of these defences, but I have questions concerning both of them.

Although they start of very differently in nature, it seems to me that... A)_French defence with a later ...,c5; leads to the same black pawn structure as... B) Sicilian with ...e6; and ...,d5;.

How common is this crossover/transposition? I ...[text shortened]... ched, what are the pros and cons of each move order to get there?

Sincerely
    Latent Potential
    yes you can start with the Sicilian and end up with the French,

1. e4 c5 2. Nf3 Nc6 3. c3 e6 4. d4 d5 5. e5 Bd7 6. Be2

viola! Le French defence a la advanced variation!
  4. 127.0.0.1
    Moves
    14 Feb '10 20:16
    While the pawn structures may end up similar, it only happens if white chooses to play that way. The sicillian is much more of an open game and french closed or semi-closed in most lines.
  5. Joined