1. Santa Clara, CA
    Moves
    02 Oct '06 06:50
    so i've been playing for a few months now. i play as much as i can either against friends at school (somtimes evenly matched, sometimes not as good as me, and sometimes just much better so i can try to learn from them) or against AI opponents. but i always seem to take 2 steps forward and then 2 steps back. i feel like i'm starting to make progress, and then i start playing horribly all of a sudden. have any of you experienced stagnation like this?
  2. Joined
    11 Nov '05
    Moves
    02 Oct '06 07:00
    One remedy is to get a book, at the right level for you, and study (not just read) it, from first to last page, not swiftly but thoroughly.

Go over your games again, from time to time, and analyze them, with friends or by yourself.

Identify your weak spots and ask other people, better players, for advise.

After a while you will se results. Be patient.
  3. Santa Clara, CA
    Moves
    02 Oct '06 07:10
    Originally posted by FabianFnas
    One remedy is to get a book, at the right level for you, and study (not just read) it, from first to last page, not swiftly but thoroughly.

Go over your games again, from time to time, and analyze them, with friends or by yourself.

Identify your weak spots and ask other people, better players, for advise.

After a while you will se results. Be patient.
    do you have any books you could recommend?
  4. Joined
    11 Nov '05
    Moves
    02 Oct '06 07:19
    Originally posted by slickhare
    do you have any books you could recommend?
    Depends on your current level. I don't know your true rating yet.

But there is a lot of good suggestions at this forum. And more will come.

Go to your library, see what they have. If you find a book good enough, then buy it. Good to have your own copy, then you could make notes in it.
  5. Seattle
    Moves
    03 Oct '06 04:28
    Two good books are:
    Josh Waitzkins "Attacking Chess"