1. Joined
    04 Sep '10
    Moves
    06 Oct '10 19:41
    Hello,

I'm curious how most of you approach your games here on RHP. That is, do you work out the variations in your head and 'visualize' as if you're playing OTB or do you physically play out and record the variations more like a serious correspondence player?

Of course the second method can take much longer to determine your move and I suspect raise one's playing strength considerably. Also, I have found the second approach helps me recall much better the position and the various lines I've already considered but lacks in the development of other OTB skills.

I'm new to this and haven't decided on which approach to take.

thanks for any feedback.
    chuck
  2. gumtree
    Moves
    06 Oct '10 20:14
    Originally posted by caa55
    Hello,

I'm curious how most of you approach your games here on RHP. That is, do you work out the variations in your head and 'visualize' as if you're playing OTB or do you physically play out and record the variations more like a serious correspondence player?

Of course the second method can take much longer to determine your move and I suspect raise one ...[text shortened]... this and haven't decided on which approach to take.

thanks for any feedback.
    chuck
    I play the moves on a board and record them using a tree notation. I did try using a software thingy to keep track of moves and variations but it annoyed me too much. After 30+ years of correspondence play I am too old to change my methods and definitely too old to go back to trying to work it all out in my poor old noggin.
  3. Joined
    07 May '10
    Moves
    06 Oct '10 20:51
    Hello,

Of course the second method can take much longer to determine your move and I suspect raise one ...[text shortened]... this and haven't decided on which approach to take.

thanks for any feedback.
    chuck