Originally posted by Sequoia Hieghts 01
When your last piece is taken, how many moves (each person) or TOTAL moves, but please specify.. I have heard 25, does that mean I GET 25 moves to check mate the other guy, or 12 moves, and he gets 13 to draw?
From the FAQ - A draw can be claimed without any interaction from your opponent under a number of conditions. These are as follows:
No piece capture or pawn movement has occurred for over 50 consecutive moves (100 half moves). Therefore the game has not progressed and a draw may be claimed by either player during their next move.
Insufficient material remains on the board to finish the game. If only two kings remain then either player may claim a draw during their next move.
Third repetition of a position. If any identical position appears three times during a game, then the game can be claimed as a draw. Please note that each repetition must be identical with regards to en passant and castling availability. A draw can only be claimed along with a move that contributes to a repetition. Claiming after the repetition has occurred is not possible, unless the same position can be repeated again on a future move.