1. Joined
    04 Jul '06
    Moves
    03 Mar '09 13:39
    Hi,
    I am a somehow advanced chess player. I have a general knowledge of all the openings, but:
    I play only 1. d4.

I am planning to start using 1.e4 in long games. I started to use it in blitz a few days back, with closed games in sicilian, like 1e4 c5 2 g3 and some King's gambits against e5, where even I do not know any theory comes a bit natural, and in blitz I do not need all that opening knowledge...
    I am looking for some safe, quiet lines/plans for 1.e4(in 1d4 style), where to get the closed games that I prefer but to make it tougher for the opponents to prepare...
    Any advice?
  2. Joined
    16 Nov '06
    Moves
    03 Mar '09 13:56
    I started playing the alapin sicilian (e4 e5 c3), sound positional line building a strong centre and castling short. Throws the usual sicilian player of guard.

The french and caro are already quite closed, against the caro the advance closes the centre immediatly. Against e5 you could just go for the ruy, which is in itself a strategical opening rather than all out tactical melee (although black can always insist on a sharp game, as with any other opening).
  3. Standard memberAlzheimer
    A brain like a sieve
    Account suspended
    Moves
    03 Mar '09 14:04
    Originally posted by vipiu
    Hi,
    I am a somehow advanced chess player. I have a general knowledge of all the openings, but:
    I play only 1. d4.

Any advice?
    stay playing 1.d4!!!
    Why changing your opening move after several years of playing 1.d4?
  4. Joined
    16 Nov '06
    Moves
    03 Mar '09 14:13
    He told it in his post, to avoid preparation by his opponents.
  5. Joined
    04 Jul '06
    Moves
    03 Mar '09 14:15
    Originally posted by Alzheimer
    stay playing 1.d4!!!
    Why changing your opening move after several years of playing 1.d4?
    Because of opponents' preparation. I do not want them to have preparation for me, I want to be a step ahead...