I am new

I am new

Only Chess

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.

l

Moves
01 Aug 06

I am quite new to chess. I have not really played it before. And becuase of that I am pretty bad at it. So do you know any where I could get taught how to play or some books or any advice or help?

Thanks!

D
Losing the Thread

Quarantined World

Moves
01 Aug 06

http://www.exeterchessclub.org.uk/

j

Moves
01 Aug 06

hey...
maybe you could keep playing here but "unrate" any new game you play.. so you'll learn from experiencing games with others and still enjoy..

another tip.. if you play a new game.. NAME it.. as "beginner.. or new to chess.. etc.." this way.. ppl would know and maybe someone who be looking for you.. 😉

i myself.. am a beginner and learned alot from playing here.. all the best!

o
onyx2007

watching you...

Moves
01 Aug 06

Originally posted by jellyfish
hey...
maybe you could keep playing here but "unrate" any new game you play.. so you'll learn from experiencing games with others and still enjoy..

another tip.. if you play a new game.. NAME it.. as "beginner.. or new to chess.. etc.." this way.. ppl would know and maybe someone who be looking for you.. 😉

i myself.. am a beginner and learned alot from playing here.. all the best!
how much can u learn in 6 games?

j

Moves
01 Aug 06

you'll see how much i learned.. just in the next 6 games.. ony..

W
Angler

River City

Moves
01 Aug 06

We're all beginners here, although some of us have been beginners for a long time.

Play through classic games--those played by Morphy, Anderssen, La Bourdonnais, Steinitz, Staunton, Lasker. You'll get a feel for coordination of the pieces, control of the center, mobility, and other strategic themes. You'll also pick up some tactical ideas.

dsR

Big D

Moves
01 Aug 06
1 edit