Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. Subscriber sonhouse
    Fast and Curious
    07 Nov '16 15:30 / 2 edits


    White to move obviously since he is in check.

    The game is over, we called it a draw.
  2. Subscriber Ragwort
    Ex Duris Gloria
    07 Nov '16 19:04
    Originally posted by sonhouse
    [fen]Q3b3/2K1P3/8/4k3/2q5/8/8/8 w - - 3 71[/fen]

    White to move obviously since he is in check.

    The game is over, we called it a draw.
  3. Subscriber sonhouse
    Fast and Curious
    07 Nov '16 20:46 / 2 edits
    Originally posted by Ragwort
    [pgn]
    [FEN "Q3b3/2K1P3/8/4k3/2q5/8/8/8 w - - 3 71"]
    71. Qc6 Qxc6 72. Kd8 Qd7 [/pgn]
    You have a point, there is a win, but I was thinking more on the lines of a forced win🙂

    Like now K-e1, now what?

    So if K-e1, how do I stop white from perpetual check? And the white king is attacking my bishop.
  4. Subscriber LittleDonkey
    Little Donkey
    07 Nov '16 21:04
    Originally posted by sonhouse
    You have a point, there is a win, but I was thinking more on the lines of a forced win🙂

    Like now K-e1, now what?

    So if K-e1, how do I stop white from perpetual check? And the white king is attacking my bishop.
    There is a sneaky trap, Kd8, Bc6, e8=Q+, Bxe8, Kxe8, Qg8+ and then take the queen on a8 but Qa5+ after Bc6 seems to secure the draw.
  5. Subscriber Ragwort
    Ex Duris Gloria
    08 Nov '16 06:55
    Originally posted by sonhouse
    You have a point, there is a win, but I was thinking more on the lines of a forced win🙂

    Like now K-e1, now what?

    So if K-e1, how do I stop white from perpetual check? And the white king is attacking my bishop.
    This position is within the range of 6 piece endgame tablebases which are free to access on line. The one I consulted said Kb8 or Kd8 is a draw but white loses with the 3 other legal moves. As an example of the way things are going ICCF now allow win/ draw claims as soon as a tablebase position is reached. Of course it is against the rules of this site to consult them during play here.
  6. Subscriber sonhouse
    Fast and Curious
    08 Nov '16 10:31
    Originally posted by Ragwort
    This position is within the range of 6 piece endgame tablebases which are free to access on line. The one I consulted said Kb8 or Kd8 is a draw but white loses with the 3 other legal moves. As an example of the way things are going ICCF now allow win/ draw claims as soon as a tablebase position is reached. Of course it is against the rules of this site to consult them during play here.
    In this game it was declared a draw so any analysis would be appreciated. I saw the queen trap but it looked to me like he wouldn't have taken the bishop but instead just start checking my king which would probably been draw anyway.
  7. 08 Nov '16 12:10 / 1 edit
    No win there, that position is a draw.

    Here is the point where you chucked the win.



    There was also a big moment here.



  8. Subscriber sonhouse
    Fast and Curious
    08 Nov '16 12:34
    Originally posted by KnightStalker47
    No win there, that position is a draw.

    Here is the point where you chucked the win.

    [pgn]
    [FEN "4b3/p3P3/P2K4/3p4/3k4/8/8/8 w - - 0 1"]
    1. Kc7 Ke5 {This move is a little strange, Kc5 is more natural, moving towards the action. After Kc5 the idea of simply running the pawn as you did in the game works} 2. Kb7 Kd6 {You played d4 which is the mo ...[text shortened]... b3/4P3/1K6/4k3/3q4/8/8/8 w - - 0 1"]
    1. Kc7 Qd6 2. Kc8 Bd7+ 3. Kd8 Bc6+ 4. Kc8 Qd7+ {GG} [/pgn]
    Thanks for the analysis. I saw some of the second play but not running it to mate.