Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 05 Apr '07 15:25
    What if I played a game against someone and then put the game up on the boards for analysis?

    Nothing, right? What if me and the same person had a second game in progress that was progressing exactly like the game that was up for analysis?

    Is that a violation of any rule?

    I almost did this but then I noticed the second game was going like the first and figured that might be considered trying to cheat or something. Even if it isn't cheating it seems wrong.
  2. Subscriber Ponderable On Vacation
    chemist
    05 Apr '07 15:28
    If a second game goes exactly as the first it is nt cheating to use things learned in the first to do in the second (but at this point things will become different, won't they?)
  3. 05 Apr '07 16:01
    It's not out and out cheating but borderline - as long as players are as honest as you then it isn't a problem!
  4. Standard member Phlabibit
    Mystic Meg
    05 Apr '07 16:12 / 2 edits
    Originally posted by TheGambit
    It's not out and out cheating but borderline - as long as players are as honest as you then it isn't a problem!
    Huh?

    If you are in a position in an existing game, and a finished game... and you start asking questions about the finished game, while the position still matches the game in progress.... you have definitely cheated.

    Just because you have a finished game that matches a game in progress doesn't mean you have the green light to ask about the finished game... because it still matches a game in progress.

    If you have a game in progress you can't ask about any of those positions from the game. It is cheating and a matching finished game is not an excuse to get help on your positions.

    Edit The analysis should have been done BEFORE this line was followed again. Now that the game is in progress, there will be 2 games that can be analyzed once they are finished.

    P-
  5. 05 Apr '07 16:17
    And this is written in the rules is it?
  6. Standard member Phlabibit
    Mystic Meg
    05 Apr '07 16:19 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by TheGambit
    And this is written in the rules is it?
    Yes. This game is in progress, the position is a current game.

    Phlabibit (RHP Game Mod)

    I added another edit to my original.
  7. 05 Apr '07 16:20 / 1 edit
    No it's not, he would be asking about a finished game - which just happens to match a current game.

    edit: all I'm saying is that the rules don't explicitly state this as cheating.
  8. 05 Apr '07 16:23
    Originally posted by TheGambit
    No it's not, he would be asking about a finished game - which just happens to match a current game.
    Gambit, out of curiousity - what's your repertoire?
  9. Standard member Phlabibit
    Mystic Meg
    05 Apr '07 16:24 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by TheGambit
    No it's not, he would be asking about a finished game - which just happens to match a current game.
    Someone is going to notice you have a game in the same position (happens all the time) and call someone a cheat. Try and deny you are cheating since you did ask about the position.

    It will be very hard to defend yourself since this position is in an existing game.

    The analysis should have been done before the line was followed again.

    Edit Let's say you have 100 games, why did you pick that game to analyze now? Because you are IN THAT POSITION in another game. You are trying to go around a rule to get advice in an existing game.

    P-
  10. 05 Apr '07 16:26
    I agree with what you're saying Phlab, just I can see some people getting away with it.

    CMS - repertoire? Openings?
  11. Standard member rhb
    Ginger Scum
    05 Apr '07 16:36
    If you have to ask, it's probably cheating.
  12. 05 Apr '07 16:36
    Originally posted by TheGambit
    I agree with what you're saying Phlab, just I can see some people getting away with it.

    CMS - repertoire? Openings?
    Yeah, sorry, opening rep.
  13. Standard member Phlabibit
    Mystic Meg
    05 Apr '07 16:38
    Originally posted by TheGambit
    I agree with what you're saying Phlab, just I can see some people getting away with it.

    CMS - repertoire? Openings?
    Yes, but since someone is asking an honest question wanted to give an honest answer.

    P-
  14. 05 Apr '07 16:57
    What if I posted the game for review and then started another game with the person and they did the same opening sequence of moves?

    That obviously couldn't be called cheating.

    It doesn't matter really, I did something different in the second game and I am going to win. I just thought the question was interesting.
  15. Standard member Phlabibit
    Mystic Meg
    05 Apr '07 17:27
    Originally posted by Gortron
    What if I posted the game for review and then started another game with the person and they did the same opening sequence of moves?

    That obviously couldn't be called cheating.

    It doesn't matter really, I did something different in the second game and I am going to win. I just thought the question was interesting.
    There would only be a problem if the game was still being analyzed as you got up to those moves. If someone posts move 21 today, and you make move 21 tomorrow... now there is a problem. If the analysis was completed, there is no problems following that line.

    Also, chances are the guy you are playing is going to make a different move than your line from the thread... unless they had been reading the same thread and wanted to try a line.

    P-