Opening Question

Opening Question

Only Chess

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.

s

Moves
03 Apr 07

I've been dabbling in chess for several years but have only recently begun to take it seriously and study it in earnest. I'm looking around to purchase various books to improve my game and obviously to play on RHP as often as I can.

With that being said, I won't be able to really study openings for quite a while do to priorities/not being able to find a book about openings that I like that much. So would it be better to play one opening very consistently and learn all the variations of it, or to try out various openings and learn by trial and error? I'm just not sure if playing the Caro Kann for example would be beneficial if I don't know it's regular progressions/variations past the first two moves

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Moves
03 Apr 07

Originally posted by stockton1984
I've been dabbling in chess for several years but have only recently begun to take it seriously and study it in earnest. I'm looking around to purchase various books to improve my game and obviously to play on RHP as often as I can.

With that being said, I won't be able to really study openings for quite a while do to priorities/not being able to fi ...[text shortened]... rogressions/variations past the first two moves

Stick to a certain opening, use a database to follow the lines, but don't buy a book on it or anything like that.
Instead you should concentrate on tactics and the endgame before anything else.

k

Sigulda, Latvia

Moves
03 Apr 07

Originally posted by Bad wolf
Stick to a certain opening, use a database to follow the lines, but don't buy a book on it or anything like that.
Instead you should concentrate on tactics and the endgame before anything else.