1. Joined
    18 Aug '06
    Moves
    22 Sep '06 21:271 edit
    Is the idea with this type of opening to lock up the middle, because that seems to happen often. I am new to chess and this is the only opening I have used. The responses I get from black are nothing like the GM games I have looked at... so they are not much help to me yet. I have been lucky with a few games, but I feel like I am always playing from behind. I chose this opening so i wouldnt have to learn book lines... maybe that wasnt a very good reason🙂 Does anyone here play this type of openging much?

Of course It may just be that I dont play very well yet...
  2. Joined
    01 Aug '04
    Moves
    22 Sep '06 23:27
    The KIA (as used by GMs) is generally a quiet, positional opening that postpones the battle until the middlegame. It can lead to some interesting strategic battles. However, it's probably not the best choice for you as a beginner because you haven't developed the positional skills to handle the opening well. You would probably do best playing 1.e4 as recommended by most advanced players as the place to start with openings.

Good luck!
    Scott
  3. Joined
    22 Aug '06
    Moves
    23 Sep '06 01:35
    Originally posted by lepomis
    Is the idea with this type of opening to lock up the middle, because that seems to happen often. I am new to chess and this is the only opening I have used. The responses I get from black are nothing like the GM games I have looked at... so they are not much help to me yet. I have been lucky with a few games, but I feel like I am always playing from behin ...[text shortened]... e play this type of openging much?

Of course It may just be that I dont play very well yet...
    The King's Indian Attack isn't particualrly ambitioius, but it is an excellent opening if your goal in the opening merely to enter a playable middlegame.