Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. Standard member SwissGambit
    Caninus Interruptus
    13 Jul '10 16:18 / 1 edit

    What was the last move?
  2. Standard member nimzo5
    Ronin
    13 Jul '10 16:25
    Ne7#?
  3. 13 Jul '10 17:08
    OK, well definitely some white pieces have been promoted at some point..

    The black pawns cannot be where they are now by only having taken whites pawns.
  4. Standard member SwissGambit
    Caninus Interruptus
    13 Jul '10 17:44
    Originally posted by Willzzz
    OK, well definitely some white pieces have been promoted at some point..

    The black pawns cannot be where they are now by only having taken whites pawns.
    Aha, someone with experience enters the thread. Good observation.
  5. 13 Jul '10 19:47
    well... if it was white to move last move it could be g5.... with black maybe ...h2?
  6. Standard member SwissGambit
    Caninus Interruptus
    13 Jul '10 21:51 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Maxacre42
    well... if it was white to move last move it could be g5.... with black maybe ...h2?
    No, there is a unique answer.
  7. 13 Jul '10 21:54
    Your board is broken, the pervious button isn't working.
  8. Standard member SwissGambit
    Caninus Interruptus
    13 Jul '10 22:12
    Originally posted by Eladar
    Your board is broken, the pervious button isn't working.
    Sounds like a great site idea though ... hear that, Russ?
  9. 13 Jul '10 23:04
    This seems really tough.

    Any easier problems maybe like who is to move?
  10. 13 Jul '10 23:39 / 2 edits
    Most pieces are blocked, so only a few could have moved:
    Black:
    Rb8-b7
    f6xe5
    h3-h2

    White
    Nd3-c5
    Ne4-c5
    Na4-c5
    Be1-g3
    Bf2-g3
    Bf4-g3
    Bh4-g3
    Ne7-c8
    g4-g5
    f5xe6
    f4xg5
    h4xg5

    At least 5 pieces must have been taken to get this pawn structure: 2 for the white a-pawn to pass the black a-pawn, 2 for the black f-pawn to reach the d-rank, and 1 for the white f-pawn to reach the e-rank.
    Since there are only 5 pieces of the board, f4xg5 and h4xg5 are not possible.
  11. 13 Jul '10 23:59 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Thomaster
    At least 5 pieces must have been taken to get this pawn structure: 2 for the white a-pawn to pass the black a-pawn, 2 for the black f-pawn to reach the d-rank, and 1 for the white f-pawn to reach the e-rank.
    Since there are only 5 pieces of the board, f4xg5 and h4xg5 are not possible.
    Whaa, that's wrong. Only 4 pieces need to be taken off. But I noticed a black pawn has been removed. Has it been the g- or the h-pawn ...
  12. Subscriber Paul Leggett
    Chess Librarian
    14 Jul '10 00:00
    Originally posted by SwissGambit
    [pgn]
    [FEN "B1N5/Prpp4/QbkPP3/ppNRp1P1/3p4/KP4B1/RrP4p/qb6 w - - 0 1"]
    [/pgn]
    What was the last move?
    I look at this and feel like a kid at the playground being offered a free sample from a dealer.
  13. 14 Jul '10 00:11
    The things in the left corner, a white rook, two white pawns, a black rook, black queen, and black bishop, have moved to their place before the white king blocked a3. So the white king moved to a3 after the left corner was prepared for this puzzle, but before the two black pawns blocked his route.
  14. Standard member SwissGambit
    Caninus Interruptus
    14 Jul '10 01:07 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Paul Leggett
    I look at this and feel like a kid at the playground being offered a free sample from a dealer.
    They're sure hard to swallow at first but horribly addictive once you do.

    I don't think there is a cure. I know nobody else cares about them, yet I solve and compose them anyway [retro problems].

    Even within my field, some judge just said one of my best problems is not 'worthy of being internationally known'. Gah.
  15. 14 Jul '10 02:30
    OK.

    I'm going with the obvious 1...h3-h2



    The Bishop on g3 states the pawn did not come from g3.

    The b7 Rook not have taken anything on b7 becuase
    there is nothing left to take on b7.

    The Black pawn on d4 has captured something so has
    the pawn on e5.

    The pawn on d4 did not take anything last move
    because where did it come from?

    The pawn on e5 must have taken 2 captures to get from g7 to e5
    so once again you have run out of captures.

    I'm wrong. I know I'm wrong because I never get any of
    Swiss Gambit's puzzles right. I hate him.