Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 07 Mar '09 19:33
    I just finished a game Game 6058677 where I had a chance to use the classic Bxh7 sacrifice; from what I've read and from what I've learned through experience, the Bxh7 sacrifice is most likely to work when

    A) A Knight can check on g5 and a Queen can get to h5 (these are the usual prerequisites for the sacrifice)
    B) A bishop exists on the c1-h6 diagonal
    c) A pawn is on e5 to prevent a Knight from defending at f6
    d) If white is not castled, a pawn on h4 defending g5, which would unleash a discovered check on h7 with the rook if the g5 knight were captured.

    Does anyone have any good games where Bxh7 worked, or perhaps even better, games where Bxh7 did not work? Or perhaps any more ideas what makes the sacrifice successful and what makes it fail?
  2. 07 Mar '09 19:39
    The only example of the Greek sacrifice (right?) not working I can come up with, is when Nf6 is possible after Ng5+ Kh8 Qh5. I once surprised an opponent with it...
  3. 07 Mar '09 19:45
    Originally posted by chesskid001
    I just finished a game Game 6058677 where I had a chance to use the classic Bxh7 sacrifice; from what I've read and from what I've learned through experience, the Bxh7 sacrifice is most likely to work when

    A) A Knight can check on g5 and a Queen can get to h5 (these are the usual prerequisites for the sacrifice)
    B) A bishop exists on the c1-h6 ...[text shortened]... ot work? Or perhaps any more ideas what makes the sacrifice successful and what makes it fail?
    Game 5958192 This little trick works on 1900 rated players too
  4. 07 Mar '09 19:48
    Oh the name is "Greek gift".
  5. Standard member Diet Coke
    Forum Vampire
    07 Mar '09 19:51
    In both games black lacks his black squared bishop.
  6. 07 Mar '09 19:55 / 2 edits
    Originally posted by Diet Coke
    In both games black lacks his black squared bishop.
    Even if he did have it, it would have to be on e7 to prevent the sac.
  7. 07 Mar '09 20:02
    Originally posted by KnightStalker47
    Game 5958192 This little trick works on 1900 rated players too
    Interestingly enough, I got a 1600 USCF opponent in an OTB game ensnared in the exact same opening with a similar move order.
  8. 07 Mar '09 20:11 / 4 edits
    Originally posted by KnightStalker47
    Even if he did have it, it would have to be on e7 to prevent the sac.
    This is where a pawn on h4 is handy if the rook is on h1- after 1.Bxh7+ Kxh7 2.Ng5+, it is usually suicidal to play 2... Bxg5 because of 3.hxg5

    Here is a game where h4 is useful; After move 7, I actually should've played e5 and then Bxh7, which would've worked

    White- Me (1825)
    Black- Opponent (1615)
    G/60 OTB game


    Had black accepted the sacrifice, the knight on g5 was safe- 11... Kxh7 12.Ng5+ Bxg5? 13.hxg5+ Kh8 (13...Kg6 14.Qh5+ Kf5 15.g4++) 14.Qh5 f6 (to stop the mate on h8) 15. g6! 1-0
  9. 07 Mar '09 20:38
    Here's a game where I had A,B,C and D. Game 3795282
    Everything worked out fine.
  10. 07 Mar '09 22:02 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by chesskid001
    I just finished a game Game 6058677 where I had a chance to use the classic Bxh7 sacrifice; from what I've read and from what I've learned through experience, the Bxh7 sacrifice is most likely to work when

    A) A Knight can check on g5 and a Queen can get to h5 (these are the usual prerequisites for the sacrifice)
    B) A bishop exists on the c1-h6 ...[text shortened]... ot work? Or perhaps any more ideas what makes the sacrifice successful and what makes it fail?
    You left out one key ingredient.

    Black must have his queen's bishop locked in (by e6).

    Long ago, I learned the hard way that Bxh7+ Kxh7, Ng5+ Kg8, Qh5 can be refuted by Bf5 (if it is available) !!!

    The queen's bishop must not be able to defend the h7 square from queen invasion.

    That is all I will say at this time (a very general rule).

    (I have two games in progress with the classical bishop sacrifice right now !!!)
  11. 07 Mar '09 22:29 / 2 edits
    Never mind the Classic Bishop Sacrifice on h7.

    What about the Classic Queen Sacrifice on h7

    White to play:






    Anybody know who the players were?
  12. Standard member dsmfire
    happy
    07 Mar '09 23:11 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by greenpawn34
    [b]Never mind the Classic Bishop Sacrifice on h7.

    What about the Classic Queen Sacrifice on h7
    Morphy comes to white mind. Will have a check and come back
  13. 07 Mar '09 23:24 / 1 edit
    White was not the great PCM I'm afraid.
  14. Standard member dsmfire
    happy
    07 Mar '09 23:30
    That is correct. It was not him.
  15. Standard member dsmfire
    happy
    07 Mar '09 23:32 / 1 edit
    It is a Lasker game!
    Lasker- Thomas, 1912

    http://www.chesshistory.com/winter/extra/laskerthomas.html