Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 05 Jun '09 21:40
    These are three important, definite rules. Not guidelines.

    1. You MUST alternate moves. (ie you cannot pass or take more than one move in a row.

    2. Pawns cannot move backwards

    3. When you queen a pawn you may promote it to ANY piece not just a queen.

    You should keep these rules in mind as you decide on your moves.
  2. Standard member peacedog
    Highlander
    05 Jun '09 21:44 / 1 edit
    Perhaps you forget the most important one. MATE ENDS THE GAME! So no matter how ahead in material, or development or anything, you lose if your mated.
  3. 05 Jun '09 22:44
    Originally posted by peacedog
    Perhaps you forget the most important one. MATE ENDS THE GAME! So no matter how ahead in material, or development or anything, you lose if your mated.
    Well that one usually is in peoples minds TOO much and they try to mate from move one. Perhaps I should have mentioned it... But I noticed this rule gets stated quite a bit.... These three don't get enough attention.
  4. Standard member RECUVIC
    international loser
    05 Jun '09 22:48
    any piece?? does that mean what is actually says?? if so,then I may consider promoting to a King,2 kings to be mated may make it a little more difficult for an opponent!
  5. 05 Jun '09 23:15 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by RECUVIC
    any piece?? does that mean what is actually says?? if so,then I may consider promoting to a King,2 kings to be mated may make it a little more difficult for an opponent!
    Haha duly noted. I will edit that in there.

    Edit: its too late oh well we have it noted though.
  6. Standard member RECUVIC
    international loser
    05 Jun '09 23:22
    great idea! by the way,do not forget to mention that a pawn can be promoted to any piece,except a King as noted,also except one of your opponents captured pieces! hee hee!--
  7. 05 Jun '09 23:27
    Ha!

    Just by coincidence I've just posted Staunton making that error
    about pawn promotion on The Corner.

    http://chessedinburgh.co.uk/chandlerarticle.php?ChandID=333

    Also - I'm in the top 10 - I'm out selling Dvoretsky's Analytical Manual
    and Rybka 3.

    http://www.chessaustralia.com.au/index.cfm?p=main&site=chess

    (Note: no sign of Street Fighting Chess)
  8. 05 Jun '09 23:36
    Originally posted by tomtom232
    Haha duly noted. I will edit that in there.

    Edit: its too late oh well we have it noted though.
    Another twist to the rule is you must promote. You cannot leave the piece as a pawn, and the piece you promote to must be of your color.
  9. Standard member RECUVIC
    international loser
    05 Jun '09 23:45
    So on the same subject,another rule of promotion,No promotion move may be made which causes the promoting players King to be placed in check,however if there are no alternative legal moves available either,then the game is obviously stalemate drawn,however unlikely that may be in reality!? Not impossible,but neither is it very likely to actually occur!
  10. 05 Jun '09 23:55 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by RECUVIC
    2 kings to be mated may make it a little more difficult for an opponent!
    Maybe... maybe not... the following positions would be Black checkmated Remember, you only have one move, and if you can't get out of check, it's checkmate...


  11. 06 Jun '09 00:14 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by greenpawn34
    Just by coincidence I've just posted Staunton making that error
    about pawn promotion on The Corner.

    http://chessedinburgh.co.uk/chandlerarticle.php?ChandID=333
    Sorry that this is going off-topic, but in your Corner article... for the McKay game, did you notice that Black had a quicker forced mate on move 27 instead of playing Rc2 ? Of course, Rc2 is the best practical solution OTB... just mentioning out of interest.

    Black to move.

  12. 06 Jun '09 00:15
    You may get people disagreeing with you as either King can move.

    Though I'm sure if there were rules on having two Kings then double
    checks would win.

    This is a clearer example.
    Black played a2-a1=K White played Qh4-h8 mates.

  13. 06 Jun '09 00:23 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by greenpawn34
    You may get people disagreeing with you as either King can move.
    Yes, but the rules state that you must not leave yourself in check.

    Then you'll say... but the rules don't allow promotion to a king in the first place... sure, I agree. But I did hear about some blitz tournament where if someone plays an illegal move then the opponent must claim it *immediately* or the move stands. A game between two juniors involved one of them hurriedly grabbing what he thought was a spare queen at the side of the board, only it was a king from the game that had ended next to them. The opponent didn't claim the mistake and instead made a move... the game continued...
  14. 06 Jun '09 00:27 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by greenpawn34
    You may get people disagreeing with you as either King can move.

    Though I'm sure if there were rules on having two Kings then double
    checks would win.

    This is a clearer example.
    Black played a2-a1=K White played Qh4-h8 mates.

    [fen]k6Q/1R6/2P5/8/8/K7/8/k7 w - -[/fen]
    It's late...
  15. 06 Jun '09 00:28 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Varenka
    Sorry that this is going off-topic, but in your Corner article... for the McKay game, did you notice that Black had a quicker forced mate on move 27 instead of playing Rc2? Of course, Rc2 is the best practical solution OTB... just mentioning out of interest.

    Black to move.

    [fen]7r/p3kp2/2pp2pb/2p1p3/K1P1P3/1PrP2P1/P7/7Q[/fen]
    Got it!

    Now that is classy - a bit to clever for OTB play when you have
    an easy move like Rc2 in the position.

    It even works if White takes the Rook and plays a3.

    No never saw it when entering the game. Well spotted.