1. R
    Standard memberRemoved
    Moves
    14 Oct '07 19:09
    I'm new to the wonderful world of algebra and I have a question

equation 5x + 3y = 27 I have never solved equations like this and have not been taught how, but I can prove that 27=27,but i cant solve for the variables;at least not using algebra

here is what I do

solve for x in terms of y so, x=(27-3y)/5 and plug that into the original equation

5((27-3y)/5) + 3y = 27

27-3y +3y = 27

27=27...................why is this happening?

We are studying symmetries in class and and I want to prove that one equation equals or does not equal another,....other than the substitution of numbers into them.

for instance: does 5x-5y=0=-5x+5y,...the check to see if they are symmetric to the origin........in this case they would because x=y making the equation symmetric to the origin

I found this out by saying the addition of the two equations should equal zero 5x-5y+(-5x + 5y) = 0

My question is, by using this method where will I run into complications if any?
  2. Joined
    31 May '07
    Moves
    14 Oct '07 19:15
    You cannot substitute something into the original equation, look at it this way:

x+1=y
    so x=y-1
    if we substitute into the original you get
    y-1+1=y
    or y=y

If you mess about a bit you could also get that to say 1=1. This is because in any equation with two variables, the numbers can be anything. X+1=y cannot be solved because it just means y is 1 bigger than x.
  3. Standard memberwolfgang59
    Quiz Master
    RHP Arms
    Moves
    14 Oct '07 19:24
    5x + 3y = 27

Golden rule; if you have N variables you need (at least) N equations to solve uniquely (or other clues like x & y are integers).

Without further info your equation has infinite solutions, eg
    x=0, y=9
    x=-6,000 y=-10,009
    x=5.1, y=0.5

All you can do is describe x in terms of y or vice versa.

And as for whats wrong with proving 27=27 .. nothing! Its correct.