Go back
Mate in -1

Mate in -1

Posers and Puzzles

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by BigDoggProblem
You enjoy puzzles with several (unintented) solutions? That's like having a mate in 2 where there are 4 different first moves that work. Where's the interest in that?
Hmm, I'm inclined to agree with BigDogg 🙂

I tend my puzzles to have a unique soluntion ^_^

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by BigDoggProblem
(You're gonna need a stiff drink before starting on the Spirituality forum...)
I had a feeling that might be...

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by XanthosNZ
Capturing the king is never legal even in blitz. The way it actually works is that a player has lost the game by making an illegal move (leaving his king in check).
i disagree. i guess coffeehouse chess just doesn't count, eh?

1 edit
Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by eldragonfly
i disagree. i guess coffeehouse chess just doesn't count, eh?
Nope, it doesn't.

Edit: Do stick around this time, we could use your entertaining perspective on things.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by BigDoggProblem
Nope, it doesn't.

Edit: Do stick around this time, we could use your entertaining perspective on things.
Heh. That was actually funny.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by BigDoggProblem
The King is not actually captured in a legal chess game.
It is in certain blitz and bughouse rules (when an opponent overlooks a check).

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by zebano
It is in certain blitz and bughouse rules (when an opponent overlooks a check).
The "capture" is a method of showing that an illegal move has been played. The king is still not actually captured. But then again, if you'd bothered to read the thread, you'd know that.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by propawnkiller
Do you think it's supposed to be a proof game?
If it had been N-g2+ the rook would have just taken so there aren't
many other choices. But even in the case of N-f6+ the king would have
just gone to f8.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by sonhouse
If it had been N-g2+ the rook would have just taken so there aren't
many other choices. But even in the case of N-f6+ the king would have
just gone to f8.
Incorrect.

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.