1. DonationPawnokeyhole
    Krackpot Kibitzer
    Right behind you...
    Moves
    15 Apr '08 18:13
    Hi,

I'm a research psychologist. One of the things I study is personality.

Together with a student of mine, I am doing a project on a questionnaire called the Oxford Capacity Test. This is the questionnaire that Scientologists use to recruit people to their Church, and to measure their alleged progress towards mental health.

Amazingly, for an oft-administered scale, it hasn't been scientifically validated in the way that questionnaires normally are, even by curious external parties. So I want to see what happens when you try to do this.

Basically, I want to systematically analyze whether the items on the questionnaire hang together in the way that is claimed, and whether the clusters of items that emerge correlate sensibly with scores from already validated questionnaires.

So, I looking for people to fill out the questionnaire. One of the reasons is that it contains 200 items, requiring more than a few minutes to complete.

Given this, here are two incentives:

First. you will be entered into a free draw for £30. Just email psychosurvey@hotmail.co.uk anonymously. No link to your results is made (which leaves the system open to abuse; but I am trusting you! Even you engine users!).

Second, you will get feedback from the proper (and shorter) questionnaires I use about your personality. This will be delivered, once the results are complete, by having you go online, and type into an automated feedback program the same anonymous password you inputted before filling out the questionnanire. You'll get some comparative statistics, and some verbal explanation.

Of course, psychological science will also the beneficiary here, in case altruism is your thing!

There are two links to access. Both are on this page:

http://www.psychology.soton.ac.uk/psychosurvey/

Scroll down and click, in order:

Discover your Personality! Part 1
    Discover your Personality! Part 2