Science Demonstration

Science Demonstration

Science

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Insanity at Masada

tinyurl.com/mw7txe34

Moves
24 Aug 08
1 edit

As a new science teacher I had to do some demonstrations. Here's one.

I had a metal pan. In it I placed a piece of paper. I soaked the paper in a liquid, dumped out the excess, then lit the paper on fire. A couple seconds later I quickly extinguished the fire, and showed that the paper was completely undamaged. No charred bits at all.

Explain!

n

Moves
24 Aug 08

You used the wax paper that came with the BLT you had for lunch.

Insanity at Masada

tinyurl.com/mw7txe34

Moves
24 Aug 08
2 edits

Originally posted by nihilismor
You used the wax paper that came with the BLT you had for lunch.
No. That might work though.

The experiment fails if I do not soak the paper in a liquid first.

d

A galaxy far away

Moves
24 Aug 08

The liquid is ethanol

w

Moves
24 Aug 08

Originally posted by AThousandYoung

I had a metal pan. In it I placed a piece of paper. I soaked the paper in a liquid, dumped out the excess, then lit the paper on fire. A couple seconds later I quickly extinguished the fire, and showed that the paper was completely undamaged. No charred bits at all.

Explain!
You were drinking heavily before the demonstration.

Insanity at Masada

tinyurl.com/mw7txe34

Moves
24 Aug 08

Originally posted by darkbishop28
The liquid is ethanol
Isopropyl alcohol actually.

But not only isopropyl alcohol. There's something mixed in that might help protect the paper.

d

A galaxy far away

Moves
24 Aug 08

But not only isopropyl alcohol. There's something mixed in that might help protect the paper.
I was close 😛

k

Sigulda, Latvia

Moves
24 Aug 08

Explain!