1. Seattle
    Moves
    11 Sep '08 06:16
    Hello all, I often stop by here for a read, though it is not my usual stay. I plan on joining this forum to further educate myself about the world and universe in which I live. I also hope to contribute, however I know most of you will be more qualified than I am. I plan on debating where I can, however I want to clarify an issue I often see in this forum: "Science" vs "Religion."

Personally, I am a Christian. I am also a Chemical Engineering student at University of Washington. I am presidential scholar and my strongest field in standardized testing has always beens science. I am not saying this to brag (there are many that are MUCH smarter and more adept than I am at my age), but rather try and show that while I am a Christian, I am not ignorant, I am not stupid or blind. Rather, I am willing to see points of view and learn: to assimilate what I learn into what I already believe.

Ultimately, it is obvious that the basic laws of science rule our lives, and if God uses it or not to do so should not be a part of the debate (or atleast something I will do my absolute best to not argue). Rather I wish to learn and debate on scientific facts.

On a personal level, my goal is not to "learn science" to argue for Christianity or a god, but rather to gain a better appritiation of the universe. Personally, I see it as I my calling to learn and put in this perspective, however most of you have heard "self-rightous" Christians preach at you, so I will do my absolute best to leave my religion at the door and focus on science for science sake when it comes to posting here.