1. Subscribersonhouse
    Fast and Curious
    slatington, pa, usa
    Moves
    06 Jul '09 21:59
    http://www.physorg.com/news166097923.html

These guys used string theory to solve a problem hanging around for at least 15 years in the field of superconductivity! Great advance.
  2. Germany
    Moves
    08 Jul '09 17:44
    Thanks for posting this! I work in the field of superconductivity, so this is relevant for me.
  3. Subscribersonhouse
    Fast and Curious
    slatington, pa, usa
    Moves
    08 Jul '09 22:05
    Originally posted by KazetNagorra
    Thanks for posting this! I work in the field of superconductivity, so this is relevant for me.
    I am waiting to see if this work leads to improved performance. If so, don't you think this would be a validation of string theory? Or would it still come under the heading of lucky guess? BTW, I contacted American Superconductor Co. and asked if they could sell me some superconductor wire, I have a project where I envision using superconductor wires surrounded by something like polyflow tubing with insulation (not sure of exact kind, but something that could take LN2 temps, and testing its properties as a dipole antenna. I am thinking it would lead to a very hi Q antenna that would cut down out of band noise and thereby raise the S/N ratio of a receiver, therefore lower the power requirements of transmitters, say two sets using identical superconducting antenna's would result in a much lower power requirement for both end transmitters for the same received S/N ratio. At least that's what it seems to me. I explained my project to them and they turned me down. Are these companies still as snooty about whom they sell wire to? If so, do you know where I could get some to try my experiments? I am a ham, my call is AI3N and I would really like to get a project like this going but without access to superconductive wire, am left out in the cold, so to speak🙂
  4. Germany
    Moves
    09 Jul '09 18:011 edit