Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Site Ideas Forum

Site Ideas Forum

  1. 29 Sep '16 10:02
    Why when there are two king left on the chessboard is the game not automatically declared a draw by the system?



    this game is apparently still in progress, what gives?
  2. Subscriber Ponderable
    chemist
    29 Sep '16 10:34
    Originally posted by robbie carrobie
    Why when there are two king left on the chessboard is the game not automatically declared a draw by the system?

    [pgn][Event "Clan challenge"] [Site "http://www.timeforchess.com"] [Date "2016.07.03"] [Round "?"] [White "Speeball"] [Black "Zrock"] [WhiteRating "1130"] [BlackRating "1047"] [WhiteElo "1130"] [BlackElo "1047"] [Result "*"] [GameId "117 ...[text shortened]... 1 63. Qe1xe2 Qd1xe2 64. Kf2xe2 *[/pgn]

    this game is apparently still in progress, what gives?
    I had the Situation, when my Opponent did not accept my draw offer after I took the last figure. So I claimed the draw the next move. That works.
  3. 29 Sep '16 11:01
    Originally posted by Ponderable
    I had the Situation, when my Opponent did not accept my draw offer after I took the last figure. So I claimed the draw the next move. That works.
    ok thanks but I get the feeling that the server should declare it automatically.
  4. Subscriber roma45
    st johnstone
    29 Sep '16 22:52
    Originally posted by robbie carrobie
    ok thanks but I get the feeling that the server should declare it automatically.
    you just have to hit one button to claim a draw, don't be lazy

    you seem able to hit the accept collusion clan challenges button without any problem
  5. Subscriber BigDoggProblem
    The Advanced Mind
    30 Sep '16 02:52
    Originally posted by robbie carrobie
    ok thanks but I get the feeling that the server should declare it automatically.
    Yes, it should, as well as only K and minor piece vs only K.
  6. 01 Oct '16 15:01
    Originally posted by BigDoggProblem
    Yes, it should, as well as only K and minor piece vs only K.
    look at this game for goodness sake, look at the ending, there were two kings left on the board and black moved, he seems oblivious.

  7. Subscriber roma45
    st johnstone
    02 Oct '16 07:55
    Originally posted by robbie carrobie
    look at this game for goodness sake, look at the ending, there were two kings left on the board and black moved, he seems oblivious.

    [pgn][Event "Clan challenge"] [Site "http://www.timeforchess.com"] [Date "2016.07.03"] [Round "?"] [White "Speeball"] [Black "Zrock"] [WhiteRating "1130"] [BlackRating "1069"] [WhiteElo "1130"] [BlackElo "1069"] [Res ...[text shortened]... a7a2 60. Kd5e4 Qa2c2 61. Ke4xf3 Qc2d3 62. Kf3f2 Qd3d1 63. Qe1xe2 Qd1xe2 64. Kf2xe2 Kd8d7 *[/pgn]
    unlike over the board on RHP a player can still win a game in such a position, timeout will win on here
  8. Subscriber Kewpie
    since 1-Feb-07
    02 Oct '16 23:50
    Originally posted by roma45
    unlike over the board on RHP a player can still win a game in such a position, timeout will win on here
    Doesn't timeout apply to OTB games where time controls are used?
  9. Subscriber BigDoggProblem
    The Advanced Mind
    05 Oct '16 08:18
    Originally posted by Kewpie
    Doesn't timeout apply to OTB games where time controls are used?
    Sure, but the point is that OTB, no one having only a K can win on time. They only get a draw when the opponent's time runs out.
  10. Subscriber Ponderable
    chemist
    09 Oct '16 06:06
    Originally posted by BigDoggProblem
    Sure, but the point is that OTB, no one having only a K can [b]win on time. They only get a draw when the opponent's time runs out.[/b]
    I think this has been established some time back, that a timeout with insufficient material is a draw.
  11. 18 Oct '16 06:26
    Same applies to King + Knight v lone King and King + Bishop v King.

    FW
  12. 18 Oct '16 13:13
    Originally posted by Ponderable
    I think this has been established some time back, that a timeout with insufficient material is a draw.
    More than that, OTB insufficient material to mate even with an opponent blunder (as in the two kings case) means an immediate draw, no claim required or even possible.
  13. Subscriber Ponderable
    chemist
    18 Nov '16 17:07
    Originally posted by Shallow Blue
    More than that, OTB insufficient material to mate even with an opponent blunder (as in the two kings case) means an immediate draw, no claim required or even possible.
    So somebody is going though the game note and declares the draw after one of the opponents gave up?

    No. You still have to Claim the draw OtB. You have to see it is the case and Claim it to be. You can imidiately stop the clocks and fetch the arbiter if the Opponent won't believe you.
  14. Subscriber BigDoggProblem
    The Advanced Mind
    19 Nov '16 17:11
    Originally posted by Ponderable
    So somebody is going though the game note and declares the draw after one of the opponents gave up?

    No. You still have to Claim the draw OtB. You have to see it is the case and Claim it to be. You can imidiately stop the clocks and fetch the arbiter if the Opponent won't believe you.
    Actually, yes.

    I personally had a result reversed OTB on appeal.

    To be blunt, at the FIDE level, not one of the players is so ignorant as to play on, or give up, when a situation such as this occurs. That only occurs on RHP with really weak players.