According to the Siege Rules...
"A draw will count as a capture for white, and the defending black player will be ousted."
Why is it a rule that in a siege game a draw kicks out the defending player? Shouldn't it be the other way around?
Whenever I play OTB blitz with a local group, we play with the rule that if there is a draw, then white gets up. I think this rule makes sense since white gets the first move. Does anyone else follow this rule or is my local group an oddity in using this rule?
I think the rule in sieges should be that in case of a draw, the defending player (black) should keep his spot since he/she defended the castle, if you will. Also, I think black should get draw odds on the fact black moves second.
Am I the only person with this view? I think this could make a good site poll.