1. In your face
    Joined
    21 Aug '04
    Moves
    55993
    31 Mar '05 20:13
    I don't know why, but when i'm on this site, i get an inordinate amount of popup adverts. Many of these have been diallers and a few have been for porn sites. I am a paying member and should not be expose to this menace whilst trying to play chess.
    Ps i have tried a pop up stopper but this prevents the 'analyse game' feature from working.
  2. Standard memberRagnorak
    For RHP addons...
    tinyurl.com/yssp6g
    Joined
    16 Mar '04
    Moves
    15013
    31 Mar '05 20:15
    Originally posted by jimslyp69
    I don't know why, but when i'm on this site, i get an inordinate amount of popup adverts. Many of these have been diallers and a few have been for porn sites. I am a paying member and should not be expose to this menace whilst trying to play chess.
    Ps i have tried a pop up stopper but this prevents the 'analyse game' feature from working.
    You've got adware/spyware.

    There are no popups on this site.

    D
  3. In your face
    Joined
    21 Aug '04
    Moves
    55993
    31 Mar '05 20:32
    Originally posted by Ragnorak
    You've got adware/spyware.

    There are no popups on this site.

    D
    I've ran adaware 6 and hijackthis and they don't uncover anything. And it doesn't happen on any other sites. Any more ideas folks. Apart from maybe a complete reprep.
  4. Standard memberrhb
    Ginger Scum
    Paranoia
    Joined
    23 Sep '03
    Moves
    15902
    31 Mar '05 21:03
    Originally posted by jimslyp69
    I've ran adaware 6 and hijackthis and they don't uncover anything. And it doesn't happen on any other sites. Any more ideas folks. Apart from maybe a complete reprep.
    try spybot s&d

    always worth keeping a copy of CWS Shredder also.
  5. Standard memberrhb
    Ginger Scum
    Paranoia
    Joined
    23 Sep '03
    Moves
    15902
    31 Mar '05 21:04
    Originally posted by jimslyp69

    Ps i have tried a pop up stopper but this prevents the 'analyse game' feature from working.
    just read this bit... you can override some popup stoppers by holding [ctrl] (or a similar hotkey) when you click the link.

    Andy
  6. In your face
    Joined
    21 Aug '04
    Moves
    55993
    31 Mar '05 21:37
    Just ran spybot S+D. 42 items found. Be Jesus. Blitzed them all and still getting blooming popups. Think it might be time for a reprep. My own fault for downloadin rubbish. Always promise myself that i won't but curiosity kinda gets the better of me. Free game demos and the likes.
  7. Standard memberMIODude
    me, not you
    CaNaDa
    Joined
    25 Nov '04
    Moves
    46658
    31 Mar '05 21:471 edit
    do a ctl alt del.. then click on task manager, then processes.. post the bottom 10 things running in the list.. if I recognize them, I'll tell you which ones to get rid of.
  8. Standard memberMIODude
    me, not you
    CaNaDa
    Joined
    25 Nov '04
    Moves
    46658
    31 Mar '05 21:48
    I had a couple that spybot and shredder never found when running either., I had to search manually for them all
  9. Standard memberRagnorak
    For RHP addons...
    tinyurl.com/yssp6g
    Joined
    16 Mar '04
    Moves
    15013
    31 Mar '05 21:53
    Originally posted by MIODude
    do a ctl alt del.. then click on task manager, then processes.. post the bottom 10 things running in the list.. if I recognize them, I'll tell you which ones to get rid of.
    What I normally do if I don't recognise a process, is just google the entire process name, ie: somerandomsheeat.exe. It normally tells u exactly what's going on.

    D
  10. Standard memberMIODude
    me, not you
    CaNaDa
    Joined
    25 Nov '04
    Moves
    46658
    31 Mar '05 21:54
    Originally posted by Ragnorak
    What I normally do if I don't recognise a process, is just google the entire process name, ie: somerandomsheeat.exe. It normally tells u exactly what's going on.

    D
    Yup, exactly what I do too..
  11. In your face
    Joined
    21 Aug '04
    Moves
    55993
    31 Mar '05 22:00
    Originally posted by Ragnorak
    What I normally do if I don't recognise a process, is just google the entire process name, ie: somerandomsheeat.exe. It normally tells u exactly what's going on.

    D
    I've found one called kljviiqakuf and dmwwwb.exe.
    Not a single mention on the Internet. but they look a bit out of place if you ask me.
  12. Standard memberMIODude
    me, not you
    CaNaDa
    Joined
    25 Nov '04
    Moves
    46658
    01 Apr '05 02:03
    Originally posted by jimslyp69
    I've found one called kljviiqakuf and dmwwwb.exe.
    Not a single mention on the Internet. but they look a bit out of place if you ask me.
    hmmm.. never heard of those.. and I've heard of many of them.. if you end the task on the kljviiqakuf , does he spawn more? or.. do you see a bunch at the top that keep starting up with random letters and even some that start with numbers?
    also.. is there anything that is running under the local user name? ie, under processes, I forgot how it looks, but you will see a username then a process associated with that user name.. that would most likely be a worm if you see that.
  13. Standard memberMIODude
    me, not you
    CaNaDa
    Joined
    25 Nov '04
    Moves
    46658
    01 Apr '05 02:06
    besides pop ups.. do you occassionally get other errors? for example a mapi32.dll error?

    similar to the screen shown on this page?
    http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.swen.a@mm.html
  14. In your face
    Joined
    21 Aug '04
    Moves
    55993
    01 Apr '05 02:29
    Those two i mentioned were items discovered by hijack this.
    Nope. No srious faults, although it has started shutting down when overloaded with appplications.And it does run a bit slow. I am full AV'd up though. Toatally up to date.Did a scan just today. A couple of trojans in there but nothing too sinister.
  15. Joined
    19 Oct '03
    Moves
    69376
    01 Apr '05 03:17
    also....you could download the google toolbar and install that pop-up blocker. It does not block the analyze board window, and it works rather well.
Back to Top