1. Joined
    05 Jan '04
    Moves
    45179
    21 Apr '09 20:222 edits
    Is it possible to remove thread titles from the title bar in firefox/IE?

    I'm hoping to continue participating in some of my more "mature" private forums while at work yet still retain my job. This is challenging when certain threads have titles with explicit sexual imagery or politically incorrect colloquialisms.

    Any help?
  2. Joined
    22 Aug '05
    Moves
    26450
    21 Apr '09 21:493 edits
    Would this add-on be any use to you?

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/57?id=57&application=



    edit: I don't know if it's been updated for FF3 yet.....🙁


    edit2: seems he's got a version that works....

    https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/addon/10495


    Better still: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/2363
  3. hirsute rooster
    Joined
    13 Apr '05
    Moves
    16164
    21 Apr '09 22:08
    Originally posted by darvlay
    Is it possible to remove thread titles from the title bar in firefox/IE?

    I'm hoping to continue participating in some of my more "mature" private forums while at work yet still retain my job. This is challenging when certain threads have titles with explicit sexual imagery or politically incorrect colloquialisms.

    Any help?
    GreaseMonkey much?

    I use a free hosting site to hold my scripts and I guess you get what you pay for as the damn thing is down (again).
    If you have patience then try this link -

    http://rhp42.110mb.com/gm_scripts/reset_title.user.js

    eventually there will be a script there that does what you want.

    If you're in a hurry then try this -

    Save the following as a file called reset_title.user.js
    Firefox : File -> Open File & install the script.
    Go to the 'My Games' page and the game id's should now be clickable. You'll get a new window with the analysis board.
    Enjoy.
    ================== copy below this line ==================
    // VERSION=210409
    // ==UserScript==
    // @name Reset Title
    // @namespace orangutan
    // @description Alter the title of a thread (boss safety)
    // @include http://www.redhotpawn.com/*
    // @include http://www.chessatwork.com/*
    // @include http://www.timeforchess.com/*
    // @include http://www.redhotchess.com/*
    // @include http://www.playtheimmortalgame.com/*
    // ==/UserScript==

    var titleBit = document.evaluate("id('docbody_id'😉/table[1]/tbody/tr/td[2]",
    document, null, XPathResult.UNORDERED_NODE_SNAPSHOT_TYPE, null);

    titleBit.snapshotItem(0).innerHTML =
    "<table border=\"0\"><tbody><tr><td align=\"center\">Set Title :</td>" +
    "<td align=\"center\">&nbsp;</td><td align=\"center\">" +
    "<input type=\"text\" size=\"100\" maxlength=\"100\" id=\"gm_newTitle\">" +
    "</td></tr></tbody></table>";

    var gm_newTitle = document.getElementById("gm_newTitle" ) ;
    gm_newTitle.value = document.title;

    gm_newTitle.addEventListener('change',
    function(event) {
    document.title = gm_newTitle.value;
    }, true);

    ================== copy above this line ==================

    This should work on all the RHP pages (not just the forums) - you'll get a little text box at the top right that will have the text of the page title in it. Overtype this with whatever you want & get the title of the page to update by tabbing out of the text field.

    Note - for those without the GreaseMonkey magic -

    Get Firefox = http://getfirefox.com
    Get the Greasemonkey extension = https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/748
  4. Standard memberCrowley
    Not Aleister
    Control room
    Joined
    17 Apr '02
    Moves
    91690
    22 Apr '09 15:38
    Originally posted by orangutan
    GreaseMonkey much?

    I use a free hosting site to hold my scripts and I guess you get what you pay for as the damn thing is down (again).
    If you have patience then try this link -

    [b]http://rhp42.110mb.com/gm_scripts/reset_title.user.js


    eventually there will be a script there that does what you want.

    If you're in a hurry then try this -

    S ...[text shortened]... ns.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/748[/b][/b]
    Dude, Daemon Sin and I are getting something going (slowly) on a dot com domain.

    I can host all your scripts on there if you want.
  5. hirsute rooster
    Joined
    13 Apr '05
    Moves
    16164
    23 Apr '09 21:13
    Originally posted by Crowley
    Dude, Daemon Sin and I are getting something going (slowly) on a dot com domain.

    I can host all your scripts on there if you want.
    Nice to know.
    I've only just managed now to get the file uploaded.
  6. Standard memberCrowley
    Not Aleister
    Control room
    Joined
    17 Apr '02
    Moves
    91690
    23 Apr '09 22:07
    Originally posted by orangutan
    Nice to know.
    I've only just managed now to get the file uploaded.
    Uhm, what? Is that a yes?
    Jeez, don't jump on it like a fat guy on a jam donut!
  7. hirsute rooster
    Joined
    13 Apr '05
    Moves
    16164
    23 Apr '09 23:00
    Originally posted by Crowley
    Uhm, what? Is that a yes?
    Jeez, don't jump on it like a fat guy on a jam donut!
    I wouldn't dream of spoiling your donuts.
    I'll PM you after I've greased my monkey scripts a bit.
  8. Joined
    05 Jan '04
    Moves
    45179
    24 Apr '09 13:47
    I apprecaite these ideas however the add-on didn't work for me and neither did the script. Am I doing something wrong?
  9. hirsute rooster
    Joined
    13 Apr '05
    Moves
    16164
    24 Apr '09 20:00
    Originally posted by darvlay
    I apprecaite these ideas however the add-on didn't work for me and neither did the script. Am I doing something wrong?
    In Firefox hit Ctrl+Shift+J & you should get the error console.
    Hit the clear button to get rid of all the crud in there and then the error button so you're not bothered with any warnings etc.
    Then refresh the RHP page.

    Do you get any lines show up?
    If so, what do they say?

    With my script you should get a box in the top of the page that has the text of the title in it. Alter the text and then click or tab out of the box to get the title to change.
Back to Top