Originally posted by koanom
I recently watched a game of a friend which was in a totally won King+Rook against King endgame. My friend went into vacation and when he came back he had lost because of timeout.
In a normal tournament game this would have led to a draw, because the naked King is no winning material.
I think this rule should also be included on this site.
No, I disagree with this idea.
There is a difference between forcing a draw and getting one just because you can't be bothered to move when you're in a worse position than your opponent; or even claiming a draw for being in a better position than your opponent (regardless of how hopeless or impossible it would be for him to win in his situation)...
I understand that a king alone can't win in a game of chess, and neither can a king and a bishop, or a king and a knight. But just because you get into a situation where you can't win shouldn't mean that you have to accept a draw or a loss if your opponent walks away from the board.
If I understand rightly, your friend was winning in the game, then left it to go and enjoy himself in another part of the world. Right? Then got himself skulled. Right? Serves him right. He should have won the game when he had the chance.
EDIT: (Yada, yada, yada. Internet cafes are everywhere. No excuse for not moving.)