1. Joined
    21 Nov '07
    Moves
    01 Mar '09 07:35
    Can anyone explain why the most hated of Jesus disciples, ended up
    either carrying the name of the Jewish religion, or gave name to the it?

Which is it, and why?
  2. Germany
    Moves
    01 Mar '09 10:21
    I think the name is derived from the name of the country the jews lived in, Judea. But I'm by no means an expert on this matter, so this may be nonsense.
  3. Standard memberScriabin
    Done Asking
    Washington, D.C.
    Moves
    01 Mar '09 21:10
    Originally posted by Jigtie

Which is it, and why?
    not much trouble to look it up. why did you assume a relationship between the Jewish religion and the name Judas?

Judas is a variant of the Latin Jude \j(u)-de\, which is a variant of Judah.

Jude, a brother of James, wrote one of the shortest books in the Bible, the Book of Jude.
    Thomas Hardy wrote a novel named "Jude the Obscure".

Jude has 6 variant forms: Jud, Judah, Judas, Judd, Judsen and Judson.
  4. Joined
    21 Nov '07
    Moves
    02 Mar '09 05:43
    Originally posted by Scriabin
    ...why did you assume a relationship between the Jewish religion and the name Judas?...
    Judas - Judaism

Seems they've both sprung from Judah. So, why call a religion presumably
    started by Abraham, Judaism? Shouldn't it be: Abrahimism?
  5. Joined
    06 May '05
    Moves
    02 Mar '09 14:11
    [b]Judas - Judaism

Seems they've both sprung from Judah. So, why call a religion presumably
    started by Abraham, Judaism? Shouldn't it be: Abrahimism?[/b]
    Things aren't always what they seem.

The term Judaism wasn't derived from the name Judas despite their similarities.
  6. Standard memberScriabin
    Done Asking
    Washington, D.C.
    Moves
    02 Mar '09 16:372 edits