1. Joined
    09 Mar '11
    Moves
    04 May '11 10:23
    should every religion get to have their say at school setting, or is there no place for it at all?
    As a school student i would love to have a general teahing from differnt religions, unfortunately at my school i have only really learnt about christianity.
    it would be cool if there was somthing they did to try and help you get in touch with the universe or god without being religious...mabey meditation.
  2. Account suspended
    Moves
    04 May '11 10:481 edit
    Originally posted by daisychainsaw
    should every religion get to have their say at school setting, or is there no place for it at all?
    As a school student i would love to have a general teahing from differnt religions, unfortunately at my school i have only really learnt about christianity.
    it would be cool if there was somthing they did to try and help you get in touch with the universe or god without being religious...mabey meditation.
    dont you get religious education? that is covering all kinds of religious belief?
  3. Joined
    01 Jun '06
    Moves
    04 May '11 11:331 edit
    Where are you? Different countries obviously have different laws in this regard.

I believe in the UK, it is mainly christian focused, though they do cover other religions. In my experience there is not that much of it in the UK. We had one lesson a week in the first year or two of secondary school when I went nearly 30 years ago.

I think there is definitely a place in school and a need to learn about religion: the different things that people believe around the world and the history of those beliefs (political / social / geographic / economic etc). I also think this should be within a 'philosophy' stream that also deals with wider philosophical issues and should include the thoughts of all the great philosophers and should include lessons in critical thinking and relevant aspects of psychology.