1. Joined
    06 Sep '06
    Moves
    25 Sep '06 08:13
    Can anyone please answer a couple of questions for me as I am new to chess. If a pawn initially has two moves, then why can I not take an opponent's piece with the pawn, ie opponent's bishop atB5 my pawn at A7 I thought first move one square to A6 then diagonal toB5 to take the bishop. Why would this move not be allowed.
    Secondly, if my opponent makes a move on on the list of game moves the move appears as 0-0 instead of say BF1-D3 what does this mean. Many thanks, Ian Game 2535233
  2. Standard memberRagnorak
    For RHP addons...
    tinyurl.com/yssp6g
    Moves
    25 Sep '06 08:31
    Originally posted by surfingian
    Can anyone please answer a couple of questions for me as I am new to chess. If a pawn initially has two moves, then why can I not take an opponent's piece with the pawn, ie opponent's bishop atB5 my pawn at A7 I thought first move one square to A6 then diagonal toB5 to take the bishop. Why would this move not be allowed.
    Secondly, if my opponent makes ...[text shortened]... ears as 0-0 instead of say BF1-D3 what does this mean. Many thanks, Ian Game 2535233
    I recommend 2 things. Learn the rules of chess in the FAQ, and learn algebraic chess notation.

D
  3. Joined
    06 Sep '06
    Moves
    25 Sep '06 10:34
    Many thanks for that Ragnorak, I found the FAQ section which has been a help in answering my questions. Ian
  4. Standard memberimpatient
    Big Cheese
    Pacific NW
    Moves
    25 Sep '06 17:54
    Originally posted by Ragnorak
    I recommend 2 things. Learn the rules of chess in the FAQ, and learn algebraic chess notation.

D
    Or people could just be kind, supportive and helpful in a forum meant to be, rather than just say "go look it up yourself'.

Did you get your questions answered? Any more? You will find most people to be a little different than Ignarak(EDIT) Ragnorak hopefully - especially in the help forum.
  5. Standard memberRagnorak