1. USA
    Moves
    31 Aug '06 20:54
    I need some advice on gambits. I never play gambits because I'm not one of those "pawn for position" people. Like my personality, my play is generally risk free. I don't take risks, which is why I don't like gambits. Recently I realized that I am probably missing out on a lot by not playing gambits. Does anyone have any advice on gambits and how to make them successful? And I'm talking general ideas.
  2. Joined
    13 Apr '06
    Moves
    31 Aug '06 20:58
    im no expert, really im pretty rubbish, but a gambit is often quickly recoverd, eg queens gambit (i think) which is 1. d4 d5 2. c4 dxd4 but white will get the d4 pawn back because if black defends it black will lose out by a lot more than a pawn. i think
  3. cavanaugh park
    Moves
    31 Aug '06 21:00
    well the queens gambit can be more complicated, if black wants to keep the pawn, he can, but relinquishes the center.
  4. Joined
    15 Aug '05
    Moves
    31 Aug '06 21:03

This post is unavailable.

Please refer to our posting guidelines.

5. EDMONTON ALBERTA
    Moves
    31 Aug '06 21:05
    A true gambit does not offer immediate material compensation, but rather offers compensation in space or time.

Some gambits on the otherhand are tactical in nature and are therefore described as dubious. If the one accepts these psudo-gambits, then ones pieces will be pulled off of their squares, the point being that they leave other pieces undefended that can then be captured. These gambits can also conceal hidden attacks, for example a knight could take the head of a pawn chain, revealing a hidden attack on an undefended knight. Whether your opponent decides to take the knight or defend his own he is still left a pawn down.
  6. USA
    Moves
    31 Aug '06 21:09
    Originally posted by mazziewag