Go back
Castling when the rooke was under the fire

Castling when the rooke was under the fire

Only Chess

Vote Up
Vote Down

I have always known that according to the chess rules the castling is impossible when the king or rooke is under the fire. But look at this?!
Game 7400405 and move 21.
Are the rules changed?

Vote Up
Vote Down

http://www.playtheimmortalgame.com/help/index.php?help=castling

Vote Up
Vote Down

It's amazing that you are 1600 and you have this wrong.
The King cannot castle if it is being attacked. There is no rule saying you can't castle if your Rook is attacked.

I also read a guy who was 1600 and he didn't know about En Passant!
I must really suck if average everyday people who don't even know the rules are better than me.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Korchnoi didn't know this rule either.

Vote Up
Vote Down

LoL ya I remember that. I think he was just having a brain fart.

1 edit
Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by Dirty Uncle Phil
LoL ya I remember that. I think he was just having a brain fart.
No, he genuinely didn't know what the rule was.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Too funny. Korchnoi rules.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by Dirty Uncle Phil
It's amazing that you are 1600 and you have this wrong.
The King cannot castle if it is being attacked. There is no rule saying you can't castle if your Rook is attacked.

I also read a guy who was 1600 and he didn't know about En Passant!
I must really suck if average everyday people who don't even know the rules are better than me.
This is a situation that comes up in a minority of games. I'm pretty sure in the en passant thread it was mentioned that a GM needed clarification on the legality of castling while the rook is attacked.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by Darax The Good
I'm pretty sure in the en passant thread it was mentioned that a GM needed clarification on the legality of castling while the rook is attacked.
that was Korchnoi as mentioned above ... during a candidates match with Karpov in 1974

2 edits
Vote Up
Vote Down

There is also Kindermann - Korchnoi, Ptuj, 1995.

Black to play

  • 8
  • a
  • 7
  • b
  • 6
  • c
  • 5
  • d
  • 4
  • e
  • 3
  • f
  • 2
  • g
  • 1
  • h


Black played 26...0-0 and the game was later drawn 20 odd moves later.

However when you play over the game....Keep your eye on the Black h8 Rook...😕

  • 8
  • a
  • 7
  • b
  • 6
  • c
  • 5
  • d
  • 4
  • e
  • 3
  • f
  • 2
  • g
  • 1
  • h
1.e4c6
2.d4d5
3.e5c5
4.dxc5e6
5.Be3Nd7
6.Bb5Qc7
7.Nf3Bxc5
8.Bxc5Qxc5
9.Nc3Ne7
10.O-Oa6
11.Bd3h6
12.Re1Nc6
13.Qd2g5
14.h3Rg8
15.a3Qf8
16.g4h5
17.Qe3Qh6
18.Bf1hxg4
19.hxg4b6
20.Bg2Bb7
21.Na4Rh8
22.Nxb6Ncxe5
23.Nxd7Nxd7
24.Rad1Rc8
25.Qa7Rc7
26.Rd3

0

      Vote Up
      Vote Down

      Nothing unusual castlewise about that game, if you move the rook, you can't castle on that side but you can on the other side if that rook and the king hasn't moved, and not going out of, into, or through check of the king but that rook could have come under attack and still castle, but he moved both rooks so no castle.

      Vote Up
      Vote Down

      Originally posted by sonhouse
      Nothing unusual castlewise about that game, if you move the rook, you can't castle on that side but you can on the other side if that rook and the king hasn't moved, and not going out of, into, or through check of the king but that rook could have come under attack and still castle, but he moved both rooks so no castle.
      I think you're missing the point..that Black's next move was to castle his king using the h8 rook, having already moved it.

      Vote Up
      Vote Down

      Originally posted by greenpawn34

      ....Keep your eye on the Black h8 Rook...😕
      FIDE rule 34c:

      Castling may still take place if the Rook used has not moved too much.

      Vote Up
      Vote Down

      Originally posted by MontyMoose
      FIDE rule 34c:

      Castling may still take place if the Rook used has not moved too much.
      ...and your opponent has passed his 3 drink limit.

      Vote Up
      Vote Down

      Korchnoi may not have been bewildered even if he asked the arbiter if castling was legal and even if he said he didn`t know when later asked.

      Simply asking the arbiter if something is illegal doesn`t mean that one necessarily didn`t know.

      Also if Korchnoi did say he didnt`t know after the fact doesn`t necessarily mean he didn`t know it merely means he said he didn`t know.

      Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.