Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 15 Sep '09 20:53
    Can you castle queenside if your rook passes through an attacked square?
    I didn't think this was allowed but it's just happened against me?
    Sorry if I seem thick but its been a long long time since I last played!!
  2. 15 Sep '09 20:54
    You can castle queenside or kingside, with king or less well known, queen.

    If you castle and your rook goes through, or onto, an attacked square that is fine, but your king cannot pass through, or land on a check.
  3. 15 Sep '09 20:57
    Thanks for that.
    Like I said its been a long time & that has just caught me out!!
  4. 15 Sep '09 20:57
    Brace yourself JayDoherty for a story about Korchnoi...
  5. 15 Sep '09 21:02
    Originally posted by mazattack
    You can castle queenside or kingside, with king or less well known, queen.

    If you castle and your rook goes through, or onto, an attacked square that is fine, but your king cannot pass through, or land on a check.
    Without wanting to be a pedant (who am I kidding?)...

    If the rook lands on an attacked square when you castle, that would mean the king has passed through check...
  6. 15 Sep '09 21:03
    Originally posted by Meadows
    Brace yourself JayDoherty for a story about Korchnoi...
    Consider me braced!
  7. 15 Sep '09 21:04
    Only his rook passed through an attacked square. He castled queenside..
  8. 15 Sep '09 21:55
    Originally posted by Meadows
    Brace yourself JayDoherty for a story about Korchnoi...
    Korchnoi once lost a chess game to a cow... (okay, it was only a commercial).

    Not the story you were expecting, but I try not to be too predictable.
  9. 15 Sep '09 21:59 / 1 edit
    The Korchnoi story.
    Originally posted by DawgHaus on the 26th June 2009

    In the 21st game of the 1974 Karpov-Korchnoi match,
    Karpov's 17th move Bxd5 attacked Korchnoi's R on h1.
    If he moved the Rook that allowed Nf3+ winning the Q
    (as would recapturing the B).

    Korchnoi asked the arbiter if it was legal to castle with the Rook
    under attack. It was, and he won quickly with 18.O-O!


    The End
  10. 15 Sep '09 22:53
    Originally posted by mazattack
    You can castle queenside or kingside, with king or less well known, queen.

    If you castle and your rook goes through, or onto, an attacked square that is fine, but your king cannot pass through, or land on a check.
    Just wanting clarification, you can castle your Queen?
  11. 15 Sep '09 23:08
    Originally posted by dirtysniper
    Just wanting clarification, you can castle your Queen?
    Oh no, couldn't you ignore it like the rest of us?
  12. 15 Sep '09 23:23
    Originally posted by dirtysniper
    Just wanting clarification, you can castle your Queen?
    Oh yes of course! you didn't know?
  13. 15 Sep '09 23:25
    Originally posted by Mad Rook
    Oh no, couldn't you ignore it like the rest of us?
    Well yea maybe I should have....let me guess one of Chandler's stories.
  14. Subscriber Paul Leggett
    Chess Librarian
    15 Sep '09 23:32
    Originally posted by greenpawn34
    [b]The Korchnoi story.
    Originally posted by DawgHaus on the 26th June 2009

    In the 21st game of the 1974 Karpov-Korchnoi match,
    Karpov's 17th move Bxd5 attacked Korchnoi's R on h1.
    If he moved the Rook that allowed Nf3+ winning the Q
    (as would recapturing the B).

    Korchnoi asked the arbiter if it was legal to castle with the Rook ...[text shortened]... 16. Bxg5 Qxg5 17. Qxg5 Bxd5 18. O-O Bxc4 19. f4 1-0 [/pgn]
    The End[/b]
    I was going to refer to this, but I could tell early on in the thread that I was already late to the party!
  15. 16 Sep '09 07:12
    Folks who are still bewildered I recommend looking up the rules by yourself on Fide`s own site its in handbook under miscellaneous which is ridiculous to consider the laws of chess miscellaneous but that is where the rules can be found.Believe what humans say at your own risk.