1. Joined
    12 Jul '08
    Moves
    26 May '18 16:50
    What frustrated me when I started playing chess is that even when I tried to follow general good rules, I still got beat by people who broke those rules.

I suppose it was because I didn't understand the idea behind the rules. Of course my board vision was horrible and that doesn't help either. But still I think understanding the reason for the rule is more important than knowing the rule itself.
  2. Standard memberlemon lime
    itiswhatitis
    oLd ScHoOl
    Moves
    26 May '18 17:48
    Originally posted by @eladar
    What frustrated me when I started playing chess is that even when I tried to follow general good rules, I still got beat by people who broke those rules.

I suppose it was because I didn't understand the idea behind the rules. Of course my board vision was horrible and that doesn't help either. But still I think understanding the reason for the rule is more important than knowing the rule itself.
    I take it you mean general rules of thumb. Such as moving rooks to open files, and not blocking your own pieces. And good advice such as always looking over the whole board, and checking all checks... I've lost a lot of games (including games I should have won) for no other reason than because I didn't look at the whole board and check all checks.
  3. Joined
    12 Jul '08
    Moves
    26 May '18 18:15
    Originally posted by @lemon-lime
    I take it you mean general rules of thumb. Such as moving rooks to open files, and not blocking your own pieces. And good advice such as always looking over the whole board, and checking all checks... I've lost a lot of games (including games I should have won) for no other reason than because I didn't look at the whole board and check all checks.
    When I first started the rules I was told was in the opening never move the same piece twice, put your pieces on good squares and castle early.

That really didn't do much for me.