1. Joined
    14 Feb '07
    Moves
    18 Feb '07 21:311 edit
    Ok, I just now started playing on this site, those games are called correspondene right? Not sure, but anyway I am referring to games that have a long duration.

From what I have read on this site, you guys say that blitz doesn't really help for improvement? How accurate is that? How much difference is there? If I play correspondence will my blitz also get stronger?

I just want to know a bit more about this thanks guys.

*EDIT

Just a little somthing I want to add, I have 99% of the time been playing Blitz and my blitz rating is about 1240(I started playing chess 2 months ago). I think my slow games is also quite strong. I do think that blitz helped me improve allot.

I wonder if I started playing slower games will I benifit more...
  2. Joined
    15 Feb '07
    Moves
    18 Feb '07 21:39
    A blitz game would be one played with very little time on the clock, the complete opposite of the correspondence courses here.

The reason most people would say they aren't useful for instruction is that you don't have sufficient time to analyze the game. You are essentially moving at close to as fast as you can. It may be useful, however, in showing how much you've internalized.

Correspondence chess is probably just the opposite, you would be able to absorb chess's little lessons, and more fully explore the possibilities. However, there are probably many people, maybe including myself, who haven't yet fully absorbed a lot of chess because we dont have to.
  3. Joined
    01 Feb '07
    Moves
    18 Feb '07 21:48
    Blitz chess is particularily useful for learning patterns, tactics, and the concepts relating to creating threats and defending against them. I wouldn't recommend playing Blitz for those who are new to chess because they're likely to get slaughtered but it's definitely a useful tool later in one's chess education so to speak.
  4. Standard memberWulebgr
    Angler
    River City
    Moves