English Players

English Players

Only Chess

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.

s

Moves
06 Jun 07

I just started playing the English and I'm currently working through the book Starting Out-English. Does anyone know of any GMs who excel with this opening?

i

Moves
06 Jun 07

no habla engles

i

Moves
06 Jun 07

you could try the upper levels of the gamesexplorer...

K
Chess Warrior

Riga

Moves
06 Jun 07
1 edit

Originally posted by searcy1977
I just started playing the English and I'm currently working through the book Starting Out-English. Does anyone know of any GMs who excel with this opening?
Kramnik, Kasparov, Korchnoi, Carlsen etc.

A

Moves
06 Jun 07

You may find the following thread helpful.
Thread 69586

s

Moves
06 Jun 07

thanks all.

g

Moves
06 Jun 07
1 edit

Originally posted by Korch
I don't think that Kasparov played it more than a few times. The legendary GM Wolfgang Ulhmann played it often. Howard Staunton was the first great player to play it regularly. In fact, the opening is named after the nineteenth-century unofficial World Champion from England.

A

Moves
06 Jun 07

You shouldn't play with the English; they aren't to be trifled with. 😛

n
The Ever Living

Third Earth

Moves
06 Jun 07

The leading exponent was probably Kramnik hower he used to play it through a 1.Nf3 move order and play Queen's Gambit against 1.Nf3 d5 and KID against 1.Nf3 Nf6 2.c4 g6 playing an eventual d4. However Kramnik now usually plays 1.d2 2.c4 or 1.e4 and only rarely plays 1.Nf3

I don't really know of any top GM who regularly employs the English however as I feel it doesn't fight for the initiatve enough.

g

Moves
06 Jun 07