Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 18 Sep '06 19:31 / 1 edit
    Yesterday, I played in small chess tournament.

    It was a 4 round tournament. I had beaten my 3rd round opponent, when suddenly some guy withdrew. So the TD told me I'd have to play my 3rd round opponent again. I pointed out that there was one more player that my 3rd round opponent hadn't played, but the TD said that because that was his sister, he had to play me again. (Ironically I lost to him the 2nd time I played)

    Is this allowed according to USCF rules? I looked online and couldn't find much concerning this issue. Do I have good reason to write to the USCF and complain?
  2. 18 Sep '06 19:35
    Originally posted by chesskid001
    Yesterday, I played in small chess tournament.

    It was a 4 round tournament. I had beaten my 3rd round opponent, when suddenly some guy withdrew. So the TD told me I'd have to play my 3rd round opponent again. I pointed out that there was one more player that my 3rd round opponent hadn't played, but the TD said that because that was his sister, he had ...[text shortened]... n't find much concerning this issue. Do I have good reason to write to the USCF and complain?
    I think you would normally get a bye if someone you were paired against withdrew.
  3. 18 Sep '06 19:36
    Originally posted by chesskid001
    Yesterday, I played in small chess tournament.

    It was a 4 round tournament. I had beaten my 3rd round opponent, when suddenly some guy withdrew. So the TD told me I'd have to play my 3rd round opponent again. I pointed out that there was one more player that my 3rd round opponent hadn't played, but the TD said that because that was his sister, he had ...[text shortened]... n't find much concerning this issue. Do I have good reason to write to the USCF and complain?
    Why bother? You're rated in the 1200's aren't you? It's not like it has a major significance. Although you may have a reason if you're that bothered by it. I'm pretty sure the game should have been nulled or given to you though. So yeah, you may have a case.
  4. 18 Sep '06 19:37
    The guy withdrew after he finished his 3rd round, but before I finished mine. He withdrew before I was paired. There was one other person I could've been paired with, but he got a bye and I was stuck playing my 3rd round opponent again.
  5. 18 Sep '06 19:38 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by cmsMaster
    Why bother? You're rated in the 1200's aren't you? It's not like it has a major significance. Although you may have a reason if you're that bothered by it. I'm pretty sure the game should have been nulled or given to you though. So yeah, you may have a case.
    It would've made about a 20-40 point difference to my rating.
  6. 18 Sep '06 19:41 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by chesskid001
    It would've made about a 20-40 point difference to my rating.
    You shouldn't have lost.

    It depends, if you're rating matters that much then go ahead, otherwise don't.

    BTW: This is a question for the USCF.
  7. Standard member Wulebgr
    Angler
    18 Sep '06 20:12
    Originally posted by chesskid001
    Yesterday, I played in small chess tournament.

    It was a 4 round tournament. I had beaten my 3rd round opponent, when suddenly some guy withdrew. So the TD told me I'd have to play my 3rd round opponent again. I pointed out that there was one more player that my 3rd round opponent hadn't played, but the TD said that because that was his sister, he had ...[text shortened]... n't find much concerning this issue. Do I have good reason to write to the USCF and complain?
    In order to give you a clear answer I would need more information.

    Was this a Swiss event? How many players entered?

    It is not desirable for players to be paired more than once, but can happen in small events.

    USCF Rule 27A1 states the priority of two players not meeting twice in Swiss events, and when exceptions might be made. Avoiding the pairing of siblings does not appear sufficient grounds for suspending this basic pairing rule.
  8. 18 Sep '06 21:23
    Originally posted by Wulebgr
    In order to give you a clear answer I would need more information.

    Was this a Swiss event? How many players entered?

    It is not desirable for players to be paired more than once, but can happen in small events.

    USCF Rule 27A1 states the priority of two players not meeting twice in Swiss events, and when exceptions might be made. Avoiding the pairing of siblings does not appear sufficient grounds for suspending this basic pairing rule.
    It was a swiss event. There were only a 5 players but there were but one of the players my opponent hadn't played(that person being his sister). Thanks for the rule, that may be helpful when if I need to contact the USCF.
  9. Standard member Wulebgr
    Angler
    18 Sep '06 21:30
    Originally posted by chesskid001
    It was a swiss event. There were only a 5 players but there were but one of the players my opponent hadn't played(that person being his sister). Thanks for the rule, that may be helpful when if I need to contact the USCF.
    If you plan to continue playing in USCF tournaments, you will do well to buy or check out from a library the U.S. Chess Federation's Official Rules of Chess, 5th edition and become familiar with it. Rules issues will come up again, and knowing them can be beneficial in numerous ways.
  10. 18 Sep '06 21:33
    Thanks for the advice; before I thought it was a waste of money- I had never had any concerns with the rules in the past... now I think I might buy it.
  11. Standard member Dragon Fire
    Lord of all beasts
    19 Sep '06 15:29
    Unless you somehow lost out, eg on a prize, I don't think it is worth a complaint.

    The people organising these events are volunteers and are hard enough to get anyway.

    If you want to complain do it in a friendly way to the organisers. Sometimes FIDE rules (and USCF rules I presume) are over ridden by rules of the event (although this would generally be stated clearly on the entry form). Don't involve USCF in this as it seems a trivial local issue and the arbiter was just doing his best to keep everyone happy. You should probably have got a bye and a point. What difference would that have made for you?
  12. 19 Sep '06 15:35
    Originally posted by Dragon Fire
    Unless you somehow lost out, eg on a prize, I don't think it is worth a complaint.

    The people organising these events are volunteers and are hard enough to get anyway.

    If you want to complain do it in a friendly way to the organisers. Sometimes FIDE rules (and USCF rules I presume) are over ridden by rules of the event (although this would generall ...[text shortened]... You should probably have got a bye and a point. What difference would that have made for you?
    What DF is saying, is.

    This is an excellent opportunity for you to learn about diplomacy.

    People sometimes make mistakes even with the best of intentions. It is good to stand up for yourself and know your rights/the rules. But it might be best to save making a stink of the situation for sometime in the future when you really get screwed.
  13. 19 Sep '06 18:05
    Originally posted by Dragon Fire
    Unless you somehow lost out, eg on a prize, I don't think it is worth a complaint.

    The people organising these events are volunteers and are hard enough to get anyway.

    If you want to complain do it in a friendly way to the organisers. Sometimes FIDE rules (and USCF rules I presume) are over ridden by rules of the event (although this would generall ...[text shortened]... You should probably have got a bye and a point. What difference would that have made for you?
    Continuing along these lines, to be a TD you actually pay the USCF every year (it's an extra registration on top of your standard one). TDs also do not receive any pay (or should not) from those local events that they run. Complaining may just cost you the chance to enter local tournaments in the future.
  14. Standard member DoctorScribbles
    BWA Soldier
    19 Sep '06 18:08 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by zebano
    TDs also do not receive any pay (or should not) from those local events that they run.
    Of course they do. They take a cut of the entry fees. Why do you think only a portion of the entry fees are paid out as prizes? Why else would TDs pay the USCF to be TDs?
  15. Subscriber Marinkatomb
    wotagr8game
    19 Sep '06 18:33
    Originally posted by chesskid001
    The guy withdrew after he finished his 3rd round, but before I finished mine. He withdrew before I was paired. There was one other person I could've been paired with, but he got a bye and I was stuck playing my 3rd round opponent again.
    Technically, you could have complained at that point and you'd probably have got a bye. However, if you'd already beaten your 3rd round opponent, then you could consider a rematch as an advantage to you, as you'd be expected to beat them again. Let's face it, if you'd won the rematch you wouldn't be posting this at all...