Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. Subscriber 1973mackem
    Keep The Faith
    26 Jan '08 16:30
    just a quick yes or no will do, can a king and knight force a win over a king?
  2. 26 Jan '08 16:33
    No.
  3. 26 Jan '08 16:33
    no
  4. 26 Jan '08 16:34
    Not a single king- a king and pawn it might be possible.
    i.e.
  5. Subscriber 1973mackem
    Keep The Faith
    26 Jan '08 16:40
    OK all, i will accept a draw in my game, thanks for that, he is rated higher than me so unlikely to make mistake.
  6. 26 Jan '08 16:52
    Was this a game in progress? It doesn't matter though, it made no impact.
  7. 26 Jan '08 16:55
    Originally posted by 1973mackem
    OK all, i will accept a draw in my game, thanks for that, he is rated higher than me so unlikely to make mistake.
    Your game was a draw whatever. No mistake to make.
  8. Standard member Dragon Fire
    Lord of all beasts
    26 Jan '08 17:28
    Originally posted by 1973mackem
    just a quick yes or no will do, can a king and knight force a win over a king?
    Even a K & 2N cannot force a win against a K.

    Surprisingly in certain positions a K & 2N can force a win against a K & P.
  9. 26 Jan '08 22:08 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by ares3
    Not a single king- a king and pawn it might be possible.
    i.e. [fen]5K1k/5N1p/8/8/8/8/8/8[/fen]
    This one till isn't possible, ares3.

    We see that Black hasn't moved his h-pawn, so the only piece he could have moved before being mated is his king. If we try to say that White just moved Nf7#, then Black's previous move must have been either ...Kg8-h8, or Kg7-h8, but neither of these are possible because the white king already covers these squares. We can't even say that it is a stalemate and that Black first moved his king into the corner and only then did White move his king to f8 because that means the white knight is already on f7, which means that ...Kh8 is illegal. But change the white pieces to black, and the black pieces to white, and then we could find a solution; White's king would already be on h8 as he moved his pawn from h6 to h7, and then Black would play Nf7# for the win.
  10. 26 Jan '08 22:37
    Originally posted by Doctor Rat
    ... If we try to say that White just moved Nf7#, then Black's previous move must have been either ...Kg8-h8, or Kg7-h8, but neither of these are possible because the white king already covers these squares. ...
    The last moves could perhaps be 1. Qa7-f7 Qh5xf7+ 2. Ne5xf7#
  11. 26 Jan '08 23:20
    Originally posted by FabianFnas
    The last moves could perhaps be 1. Qa7-f7 Qh5xf7+ 2. Ne5xf7#
    Well, the original post was about K vs K+N, then it was brought up K+P vs K+N, so I'd have to say that having queens on the board isn't allowed in this particular case. I was just trying to consider the strict endgame of K+P vs K+N, but you are right that the final position is possible if other pieces are allowed.
  12. 26 Jan '08 23:32
    Asking advice on a game in progress is against the rules, you should not have made this thread !!!!"
  13. Subscriber 1973mackem
    Keep The Faith
    27 Jan '08 21:46
    sorry about that, i thought i could not win, my oppo could not as he was the one with the sole king, just thought if it was confirmed that i could not force a win, i could offer draw and save us both moving for 50 moves. It never helped me win or draw, just let me know something that most other people probably knew.
  14. Standard member Dragon Fire
    Lord of all beasts
    28 Jan '08 08:27 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Pigface1
    Asking advice on a game in progress is against the rules, you should not have made this thread !!!!"
    I think the question as it stood was a theoretical one asking if it was possible and neither gave nor actually asked for assistance in a current game. As the game was a dead draw and no amount of advice could affect it them he could not possibly receive any beneficial assistance.

    What however if someone askes "Can I win with K & R vs K?", I still think such a question is theoretical and its OK to say yes as he still needs to find how to do it.

    ... but "How do you win this [fen posted] K & R vs K ending?" is a different matter entirely.
  15. Standard member Smiffy
    SPS CLAN
    28 Jan '08 12:36
    Originally posted by Pigface1
    Asking advice on a game in progress is against the rules, you should not have made this thread !!!!"
    Tutts get over yourself piggy.