1. Joined
    02 Sep '06
    Moves
    06 Dec '06 23:32
    I am new to playing chess, but I know what every piece does. I need to have some stragedy ideas or anything at all would be helpful. I have playes 7 different games with my dad and nothing I do seems to work, I mean I know that he is good, but i would like to beat him just once!
  2. Joined
    30 Aug '06
    Moves
    06 Dec '06 23:39
    Try a new stragedy.
  3. Joined
    02 Sep '06
    Moves
    06 Dec '06 23:42
    all seven times I have tried something new
  4. Standard memberHomerJSimpson
    Renouned Grob Killer
    Moves
    06 Dec '06 23:42
    Try learning how to play chess
  5. Joined
    15 Aug '05
    Moves
    06 Dec '06 23:443 edits

This post is unavailable.

Please refer to our posting guidelines.

6. London
    Moves
    07 Dec '06 00:10
    As a rough guide you could aim to: Move a pawn in front of your king two squares forward for your first move follow this with the knights and bishops from your kingside then castle (see the FAQ pages for castling rules) get your other Knight and Bishop out if you can (you'll have to make another pawn or two to do this ) then bring your Rooks to the centre. Now you have your army devloped and your king is safe - attack.

In the begining keep pawn move to a minimum - they don't go backwards. Try to move each peice only once or twice in the first few moves. Co-ordinate your peices so they work together.

Whilst aiming to do the above - something always gets in the way - respond the best you can to your opponents moves - learning some tactics is the best way to do this - check out; knight forks, forks, pins, skewers and double attacks.

Now you'll need to finish him offf with checkmate.

Learn to checkmate with king & two rooks verses a king, then learn how to checkmate with king & rook, then with king and queen.