1. Joined
    26 Nov '03
    Moves
    15 Feb '07 14:53
    I am fairly new to otb chess and was quite suprised to see a poll of annoying things players do include 2 things that I have (not always) done in league matches. They were say 'check' I know there is no need to but occassionally I have said it and the other which I have done a few times is to point out my last move when my opponent has been to the toilet and I moved in his absence. Are these 2 things rude? I actually thought I was being polite.
  2. Subscriberouroboros
    Digital Alchemist
    Moves
    15 Feb '07 14:57
    Originally posted by stevetodd
    I am fairly new to otb chess and was quite suprised to see a poll of annoying things players do include 2 things that I have (not always) done in league matches. They were say 'check' I know there is no need to but occassionally I have said it and the other which I have done a few times is to point out my last move when my opponent has been to the toilet and I moved in his absence. Are these 2 things rude? I actually thought I was being polite.
    It might be taken the wrong way depending on the player. Similar to offering draws more than 3 times during a game can be taken the wrong way. If your opponent is of sufficient rating, they should know that they are in check or know what has changed on the board without you telling them. To do otherwise is to insult their intelligence.
  3. Joined
    21 Feb '06
    Moves
    15 Feb '07 15:01
    I've been playing chess for almost thirty years and both of these are perfectly polite.

Most stronger players don't bother to say check, but some do and I don't think anyone takes offence, unless it is said extremely loudly.