Originally posted by Varenka
So it's acting as an aid, which should not be allowed.
Exactly. It is explictly forbidden elsewhere in the rules to use the scoresheet as an aid for analysis. It is intended to be used solely
as a record of the game. Once a player writes a mere candidate down for consideration, he is abusing the scoresheet.
Wulebgr, if it reduced your students' impetuousness to write down a 4-ply PV prior to each move, would you think the rules should allow that? How about a 2-ply PV? If not, why should a 1-ply PV be acceptable? You are just teaching your students to exploit a loophole -- one that exploits the fact that candidates have the same written representation as actual moves and can thus masquerade while the player is still analyzing them, and one that has now wisely been closed.
Note that I would not have a problem with writing the move prior to making it if the written move were binding. My beef with the old rule is that players were allowed to scratch it out and change it after evaluating the resulting position -- multiple times even, cycling through a list of candidates -- which constitutes analysis in my book, and in which as you even admit, the scoresheet is being used to help. Candidate moves have no place on the scoresheet -- since you can only move once per turn, and since the scoresheet is intended to be solely a record of the game and not a scratchpad for ideas, it only makes sense that you should write one move per turn. Aside from transcription errors, how can you justify writing two or more moves per turn when the scoresheet is supposed to be a record of the game?
So far, you have not given any reasons why the rule is bad. The only reason you cite for the former way being good is that using the scoresheet in that manner helps you and your students play better (and what you really mean is that it helps you spot blunders that you wouldn't have otherwise, moving without seeing the written move)! But if that's a justifying reason, then a sideboard for analysis on which a player could make one-ply moves from the current position should be allowed as well, since that would also help you play better and reduce one-ply blunders in the very same manner. But if you think that is an unfair aid, you must also find that doing it symbolicallly on a scoresheet is as well. You can't have it both ways.