Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 24 Oct '06 18:28
    i don't understand why the site calls it a stalemate when i have 2 queens and his king boxed in. he had no square to move to that i didn't have covered. it was the 58th move. i had him on the ropes.
  2. 24 Oct '06 18:32 / 1 edit
    if a king cant move, but isnt in check, its a stalemate. And a draw.

    if its in check and cant move elsewhere where it isnt in check, its a checkmate, and a win.

    i made the same mistake once. you gotta be sure to check him, not just box him.
  3. 24 Oct '06 18:33
    It's not the site, it's the rules of chess.
  4. 24 Oct '06 18:42
    why the H-LL do you think i'm asking? but thanks
  5. 24 Oct '06 18:51
    I think we're talking about Game 2643767
    This is reaaly a formidable stalemate!
  6. 24 Oct '06 18:51 / 2 edits
    I think we're talking about Game 2643767
    This is really a formidable stalemate![/
  7. 24 Oct '06 19:03
    thank you, i really thought that i had a death grip on his goolies,
  8. Standard member Wulebgr
    Angler
    24 Oct '06 19:53
    From a recent OTB tournament.

    Black to move

  9. 24 Oct '06 20:33
    Originally posted by FabianFnas
    I think we're talking about Game 2643767
    This is reaaly a formidable stalemate!
    Although we could be talking about:Game 2514151
  10. 24 Oct '06 22:45
    Originally posted by tiggr
    thank you, i really thought that i had a death grip on his goolies,
    57...Qh5# was the right move there...
  11. 25 Oct '06 00:04
    Originally posted by R3aPeI2
    if a king cant move, but isnt in check, its a stalemate. And a draw.
    Just to clarify (because someone who doesn't already know the rule might not understand):

    -it's not just when the king can't move, but when the other player has no legal moves but is not in check. Obviously, in the starting position of a chess game, the king can't move, but it's not a stalemate.
  12. 25 Oct '06 03:07 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Wulebgr
    From a recent OTB tournament.

    Black to move

    [fen]1r5k/1P5P/1R4K1/8/8/8/8/8 b - - 0 54[/fen]
    Correct me if I'm wrong on this. It's blacks move. Would rxb7 be a good move? White can't play rxb7 in response because that would be stalemate. So is this position equal? White must move his rook away after black takes b7 or basically lose. I don't believe there is anyway for white to move his rook and protect his h7 pawn. White is forced to move his rook away and black can play rxh7. So while it looks like white is totally winning, is the position equal?
  13. 25 Oct '06 04:00
    Actually after rxb7 and white moves his rook away to whichever square he chooses, taking the h7 pawn would result in a checkmate. I think the better second move for black would be rg7+.
  14. Standard member Wulebgr
    Angler
    25 Oct '06 13:36
    Originally posted by typen
    Actually after rxb7 and white moves his rook away to whichever square he chooses, taking the h7 pawn would result in a checkmate. I think the better second move for black would be rg7+.
    Yep.

    The game concluded:

    54...Rxb7 (draw offer) 55.Rd6 Rg7+ 56.Kh6 Rxh7+ 57.Kg6 (draw offer accepted)

    White was down to three minutes on the clock, black had 55 minutes left.

    White had a crushing advantage, but blundered in time pressure.

    Here white played 54.h7??

  15. 25 Oct '06 14:12
    Originally posted by tiggr
    i don't understand why the site calls it a stalemate when i have 2 queens and his king boxed in. he had no square to move to that i didn't have covered. it was the 58th move. i had him on the ropes.
    I had some trouble copping on to the stalemate rule for a while and finally managed to come up with the following to explain it to myself -

    There are two conditions to checkmate, First that the threatened king has no legal moves and Second that if given one more move, the attacking side would capture the king.

    So if you block the opposing king in, but wouldn't capture on the next move, its a stalemate.

    P.S. - if this is wrong, will someone correct me please?