1. Joined
    21 Sep '05
    Moves
    28 Nov '05 02:07
    Powershaker opines, "Get your tactics first. Worry about openings after you achieve an 1800 rating strength. 99% of chess is tactics."

Everybody onboard with this? Chess is 99% tactics, only 1% strategy? I'm rather new to the study of chess. Best way to work on one's tactical game is solving chess problems?
  2. Joined
    17 May '05
    Moves
    28 Nov '05 03:221 edit
    Originally posted by basso
    Powershaker opines, "Get your tactics first. Worry about openings after you achieve an 1800 rating strength. 99% of chess is tactics."

Everybody onboard with this? Chess is 99% tactics, only 1% strategy? I'm rather new to the study of chess. Best way to work on one's tactical game is solving chess problems?
    I am not on board. I think it's 70% tactics, 30% strategy.
  3. Standard memberWulebgr
    Angler
    River City
    Moves
    28 Nov '05 03:241 edit
    Tactical opportunities are the consequence of effective strategy, or of blunders.
  4. Standard memberark13
    Enola Straight
    mouse mouse mouse
    Moves
    28 Nov '05 04:12
    Strategy is very important. I believe that the proper strategical knowledge can be applied in all areas of chess, thereby limiting the necessary study. If you you know nothing about strategy, you'll flop in the opening, have to direction in the middlegame, and flop unless your opponent gives you material, and flop in the endgame. You need strategy in order to create tactics.

I believe that chess instruction has become too focused on a single dimension, when chess sucess relies on integration. Tactics can't win you a chess game by themselves.
  5. Standard memberBigDogg
    Secret RHP coder
    on the payroll
    Moves
    28 Nov '05 04:45