1. Joined
    27 Jan '06
    Moves
    27 Jan '06 23:15
    I'm relatively new to chess. I really enjoy the game. I'd like to learn more on opneings, but I'm discouraged by most books. I find them just to complex and not practicle when it comes to explaining the opening. What I mean is they'll start explaining the opening and then give you a few variations of the ideal reply and etc... Being a begginer and playing online very rarely do my opponents reply in the ideal manner like explained in the books. So most of the information is useless.

Are their any web sites or books that'll help me with openings in the way I like to learn them? For example something that will explain how you should evolve that opening. For example the english often transposes into (only moves for white) 1. Pc4 2. Nc3 3. Nf3 4.Pg3 5. Bg2 6. Pb3 7. Bb2. The replys are all relative, are their any websites or books out their that explain openings in the simple way like I just described above???
  2. Edmonton, Alberta
    Moves
    27 Jan '06 23:24
    Originally posted by estonian3
    I'm relatively new to chess. I really enjoy the game. I'd like to learn more on opneings, but I'm discouraged by most books. I find them just to complex and not practicle when it comes to explaining the opening. What I mean is they'll start explaining the opening and then give you a few variations of the ideal reply and etc... Being a begginer and pl ...[text shortened]... s or books out their that explain openings in the simple way like I just described above???
    General books on openings are very rare and don't go in depth. Specific openings book are dull and hard to read. What I suggest is stop worrying about the openings that much.

You seem to know the general opening scheme and just follow that. What I suggest is:

1.Open with the e or d pawn
    2.Move you knight to c3 or f3 since it mostly attacks a pawn on d5 or e5
    3.Move you bishop
    4.Castle