1. Joined
    30 Sep '11
    Moves
    02 Dec '13 19:041 edit
    Well I started playing chess when I joined Red Hot Pawn, and to be honest all bar just a handful of days I have visited the site, I suppose one could say that chess is something that I really enjoy. From day one I’ve tried to improve however this seems to have evaded me, so I thought Id ask a few fundamental questions that I have been mulling over in my mind ever since I first started playing, maybe they have no answers and the questions will remain but I thought maybe the experience of others may be invaluable, and may be of use for us to improve our game. So a question I ask myself a lot is are the best chess players born or do they grow, my point is that is it possible to start playing later in life and learn to be good and if so how? As I seem to just move the pieces about with no real plan other than that seems a “reasonable” move some days. I look back through some of the master’s games and try to predict the next move; however I rarely do and seem just to ask for what purpose did Mr Kasparov move that there for but his status in chess tells me its part of the plan and he knows what he is doing. So maybe if you read this, maybe you are willing to share your thoughts and experiences on how you have developed your game and what tools you have found best for improvement? Another burning question I think about is maybe a stupid one but I will say it anyway, just the other day I was playing a game and my opponent kindly pointed out that the opening was the Kings Indian Defence, so in my quest for learning I typed it into Google and did some research on chessgames.com the moves apparently go in the order 1 d4 Nf6 2 c4 g6. I’ve asked myself this, if say on move four (I’m black) I decided to move g5 or on move three my opponent decided to move c3 instead of c4 would this still be the Kings Indian Defence I seem to get confused by all the openings as I study them but my opponents have a habit of doing so