1. Joined
    29 Sep '06
    Moves
    10 Oct '06 02:45
    sorry if this is common practice or already been discussed....I'm a beginner considering using an engine to analyze my position AFTER I move (the move I should have made), not before, or my opponent's possible moves. IMHO, if I try to understand the whys behind the computer moves, perhaps I can get a sense of what a strong player would do in my shoes- while still doing the heavy lifting myself.

Do you think this would be instructive?
    and is it fair to my opponent?
  2. Donation!~TONY~!
    1...c5!
    Your Kingside
    Moves
    10 Oct '06 02:53
    It would be instructive, it's also cheating and completely against the rules.
  3. cavanaugh park
    Moves
    10 Oct '06 03:02
    yes cheating, and computer use during a game is not strictly not allowed.
  4. Edmonton, Alberta
    Moves
    10 Oct '06 03:38
    You can only use it after the whole game is over.

Just because you didn't play that move right then doesn't mean that you can't play that move the next move.

Pretend you don't see a tactic and make your move, your opponent also doesn't see it and the position basically remains the same. You use the chess program AFTER you made your move and it shows you the tactics and it's still possible so you play it. CHEATING.
  5. Joined
    11 Jul '06
    Moves
    10 Oct '06 03:57
    Originally posted by RahimK
    You can only use it after the whole game is over.

Just because you didn't play that move right then doesn't mean that you can't play that move the next move.

Pretend you don't see a tactic and make your move, your opponent also doesn't see it and the position basically remains the same. You use the chess program AFTER you made your move and it shows you the tactics and it's still possible so you play it. CHEATING.