1. Joined
    31 May '07
    Moves
    696
    15 Jul '07 21:27
    Joke problem. White has to mate in one. Only he's touched the knight! how does he mate in one?

  2. B is for bye bye
    Joined
    09 Apr '06
    Moves
    27526
    15 Jul '07 21:583 edits
    Nxg3, Nxf2, Nxd6 or Nxf6 since the position is illegal, why stop there?

    Or for that matter, take the king with the rook (lifting your hand off the knight might be illegal but again, where are our boundaries)

    Or move another piece, or move the knight to almost any other position on the board.
  3. Standard memberagryson
    AGW Hitman
    http://xkcd.com/386/
    Joined
    23 Feb '07
    Moves
    7113
    16 Jul '07 07:032 edits
    knight to c3?

    edits... changed my answer once or twice.
  4. B is for bye bye
    Joined
    09 Apr '06
    Moves
    27526
    16 Jul '07 07:07
    Originally posted by agryson
    knight to c3?

    edits... changed my answer once or twice.
    Good copying!
  5. Joined
    31 May '07
    Moves
    696
    16 Jul '07 09:07
    well, Nc3 isn't checkmate. Black has Kd4. And here are the rules I'm working by:
    At the end of the move, black must be in checkmate.
    All pieces must move normally, as they would in normal chess.
    You must also abide by the touch move rule and so forth.
    No capturing the king.
  6. Joined
    11 Nov '05
    Moves
    43938
    16 Jul '07 09:16
    I don't understand - Black's king is already in check?

    The only move white has to do is to turn his head up, meet his opponents eyes and say "Check mate!"
  7. Joined
    31 May '07
    Moves
    696
    16 Jul '07 09:19
    Black can take the knight
  8. Joined
    11 Nov '05
    Moves
    43938
    16 Jul '07 09:39
    Originally posted by doodinthemood
    Black can take the knight
    No, he can't, it's white's turn.
  9. Joined
    31 May '07
    Moves
    696
    16 Jul '07 09:43
    then it isn't checkmate, it must be at the end of white's turn.
  10. Standard memberPBE6
    Bananarama
    False berry
    Joined
    14 Feb '04
    Moves
    28719
    16 Jul '07 14:121 edit
    Originally posted by doodinthemood
    Joke problem. White has to mate in one. Only he's touched the knight! how does he mate in one?

    [fen]8/8/3PpP2/4k2R/4N1P1/B4rR1/1B3PK1/2B5[/fen]
    He moves the board with his other hand so the knight ends up on e8!! 😵

    EDIT: Crap, still not mate...
  11. Standard memberDeepThought
    Losing the Thread
    Cosmopolis
    Joined
    27 Oct '04
    Moves
    79202
    16 Jul '07 14:391 edit
    After ++Nd2+ then it is mate in 1.

    I think the joke is that we are not being asked to find a mate in one, but to find a move that gives us mate in 1.
  12. Joined
    31 May '07
    Moves
    696
    16 Jul '07 15:05
    Nd2+, Kf4
  13. Standard memberDeepThought
    Losing the Thread
    Cosmopolis
    Joined
    27 Oct '04
    Moves
    79202
    16 Jul '07 15:12
    Originally posted by doodinthemood
    Nd2+, Kf4
    Be5#
  14. Joined
    31 May '07
    Moves
    696
    16 Jul '07 15:21
    that's mate in 2 🙂
  15. Standard memberDeepThought
    Losing the Thread
    Cosmopolis
    Joined
    27 Oct '04
    Moves
    79202
    16 Jul '07 15:32
    Originally posted by doodinthemood
    that's mate in 2 🙂
    Yes, there is no knight move (except for moves where white takes his own material as Gastel suggested) that gives an instant checkmate. Therefore the only thing white can do to get mate in 1 is get mate in 1 after his move. The alternative is Kxf3, but the preamble suggests that a knight move is necessary.
Back to Top