1. Joined
    11 Oct '04
    Moves
    29 Jul '13 12:03
    Just wondered if anyone had a strong recommendation on the best single volume work to give a layman like myself a 'all-round' grounding in evolution.

Just to be clear, I have no background in science, so it cannot be anything approaching a technical work on the subject.

And yes, I am partly prompted to do this due to gibberings of Mr Hinds. But more importantly, my son's interest in the natural world does not appear to be diminishing, and it would be good to be able to answer some of his questions a bit more intelligently than at present.
  2. Standard memberProper Knob
    Cornovii
    North of the Tamar
    Moves
    29 Jul '13 12:22
    Originally posted by Rank outsider
    Just wondered if anyone had a strong recommendation on the best single volume work to give a layman like myself a 'all-round' grounding in evolution.

Just to be clear, I have no background in science, so it cannot be anything approaching a technical work on the subject.

And yes, I am partly prompted to do this due to gibberings of Mr Hinds. But ...[text shortened]... be good to be able to answer some of his questions a bit more intelligently than at present.
    'Why is Evolution is True' by Jerry Coyne.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Why-Evolution-True-Jerry-Coyne/dp/0199230854/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1375100476&sr=1-1&keywords=why+evolution+is+true
  3. Cape Town
    Moves
    29 Jul '13 12:45
    This won't cover everything by any means but I am enjoying it:
    http://oyc.yale.edu/ecology-and-evolutionary-biology

Its a free yale course. All I am doing is watching the lectures. Actual students would have to do a lot of further reading and writing.
  4. Standard memberDeepThought
    Losing the Thread
    Quarantined World
    Moves
    29 Jul '13 13:31