1. Joined
    28 Aug '07
    Moves
    10 Mar '08 17:53
    How the hell can someone make mobile phone antennas so small, when they work at around 2 Ghz frequencies?
    (no super-natural explanations, please) πŸ˜€
  2. Subscribersonhouse
    Fast and Curious
    slatington, pa, usa
    Moves
    10 Mar '08 21:32
    Originally posted by serigado
    How the hell can someone make mobile phone antennas so small, when they work at around 2 Ghz frequencies?
    They have resonators that cut down the size. I am a ham operator, so I can give you an analogy to a low frequency dipole: At about 7 Mhz, the "40 meter" ham band, a dipole is about 67 feet long, cut in the center where the feedline goes. If you want to shorten it, you add inductance say, about halfway, depending on how much you shorten it, you might get away with something like 30-35 feet long. The problem with that scheme is the transmit efficiency goes down, you pay for it with a somewhat smaller transmitted signal, even though you might have a decent VSWR (Voltage Standing Wave Ration).